This research guide will support you in discovering Korean Studies resources at UW-Madison and beyond. The Korean Studies Collection at UW-Madison contains over 8,500 physical volumes and other digital resources in the Korean language. The collection also consists of approximately 15,000 physical volumes and electronic resources in non-Korean languages related to Korean Studies. The Korean Studies Collection is actively growing.
The Korean Studies Collection at UW-Madison Libraries emphasizes modern history, US-Korea relations, Korean language acquisition, etc. The primary Korean Studies books and periodicals are located on the 4th floor, Memorial Library.
new Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1961) (NetID required)
Collection of government intelligence research and reports prepared between 1941 and 1961 on various topics related to Korea by the U.S. Department of State.
new Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963 (NetID required)
Archive of materials collected by U.S. diplomats on the internal and foreign affairs of Korea, from 1930 to 1963.
new Kyobo Scholar (NetID required)
Multi-disciplinary full-text article database from journals published by academic societies and research centers in Korea.
new U.S. Army Center of Military History Historical Manuscripts Collection: The Korean War (NetID required)
U.S. military documents from the Korean War era include after-action interviews and reports, orders, narratives, analyses, charts, maps, and photographs.
new Yeonhaengrok (燕行錄) (NetID required)
It is a full-text database of Yeonhaengrok. It is a travelogue of Korean envoys recorded while traveling to and from Yeongyeong (Beijing, China) during the Joseon Dynasty (13th to 19th century).
Monthly New Arrival Books
- Human rights and transnational democracy in South Korea by Hwang, Ingu
- Between the streets and the assembly : social movements, political parties, and democracy in Korea by Lee, Yoonkyung
- Carbon technocracy : energy regimes in modern East Asia by Seow, Victor
- New Selection Books - please submit a request if unavailable temporarily
Need something? Request a Purchase