Korean Studies : Academic Databases

Korean-Language Resources

• new BookRail (NetID required)   
  This platform provides Korean-language eBooks with a user interface available in both Korean and English, and search in Korean.
   
• DBpia (디비피아) (NetID required)
  Nurimedia scientific database service provides scholarly journals that are published by the superior society, publishing company, and research institute, etc. It includes over 1.8 million articles from 1918 to the present.
   
• eArticle (학술 교육원 데이타베이스)
  The full-text database provides scholarly periodicals in humanities, social science, etc. 
   
• 한국 역사 문화 조사 자료 데이터베이스 (Korean History & Culture Research Database) 
  A full-text database of excavation reports in providing full-text articles in History, archeology, anthropology, literature, and folklore in 3,000 volumes from many organizations.
   
• Korea A2Z 
  A collection of full-text databases on a variety of subjects related to Korean Studies. The databases are arranged into 11 categories and include many classical works, dictionaries, old journals, and so on.
   
• KRPia (한국의지식콘텐츠 Korean Database) 
  A collection of full-text databases related to Korean Studies. It offers a variety of subjects such as Korean history, literature, art, oriental medicine, and the classics. They are arranged in 11 categories and each database provides access to full text as well as image files.
   
• KSI E-book (한국학술정보 전자도서) 
  Over 5,800 full-text electronic books in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
   
• Kyobo Scholar (교보문고 스콜라) (Net ID required)
  A full-text database including 510 Korean scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, science, and so on. It can be searched by keyword, journal title, and subject.
  Trial period: 09/01/2021-12/31/2021
   
• RISS International (학술연구정보서비스) 
  A comprehensive search engine that allows users to access the full text of journal articles, theses & dissertations, over 550 library catalogs, and so on. It also provides a 'RISS International ILL'.

-----

• KPM (조선언론정보기지 North Korea's Newspapers and Journals Database)
  It provides various full-text journals and newspapers in North Korea. The database also consists of the Pyongyang Times in English. 
   
• Law and North Korea
  The open-access web source provides multiple North Korean laws. Some of them include English translation.
   
• North Korea Serials (NKSIP)
  The Library of Congress offers the article-level indexing for the North Korean serials. It is access to specific articles and topics of interest included in the North Korean serials collection.