- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- German Language Humanities
- Dutch Language and Literature
German Language Humanities : Dutch Language and Literature
UW-Madison Dutch Studies Facebook
Dutch News
- De TelegraafNational and world news, rich with photos
- De VolkskrantFounded in 1919 as a Roman Catholic newspaper, had leftist stance in the 1960s, today more centrist
- Nederlands DagbladBroad perspective on current events from a Christian perspective
- NRC HandelsbladNews plus links to blogs and multimedia offerings
- TrouwDutch daily newspaper founded in 1943 as an underground newspaper during World War II
Searching for Articles
Bibliographic databases are great resources for identifyng literature on a certain subject.
The Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (Bibliography of Dutch Language and Literature) contains Dutch, Flemish and foreign titles of books, articles, book chapters, and reviews from 1940 to date (occasionally with links to full text). The BNTL is maintained by the Huygens Institut.
Articles and books with abtracts may be found in NARCIS, a national research database. This database also holds dissertations, datasets, and information about organizations.
A keyword search in MLA or in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts will bring up some journal articles, book chapters, working papers, book reviews etc. on Dutch language and linguistics. The Find It icon will link to full text (when available) or print resources available through UW-Madison or interlibrary loan.
Searching Google Scholar and the Articles Tab at UW-Madison's LIbraries will yield articles or book chapters, often in full text.
The Germanistik Online Datenbank can be used to identify articles in old and middle Dutch (Altniederländische und mittelniederländische Sprache)
Nederlandse Letterkunde
An academic peer-reviewed journal for Dutch literature, with contributions covering the entire spectrum of Dutch literature from the Middle Ages to the present
Web Resources for Dutch Studies
Web Resources
- Algemene Nederlandse Spraakkunst (ANS)Electronic version of the 2nd. revised edition of the ANS, recognized as the most complete descriptive grammar of the Dutch language
- archieven.nlArchieven.nl is a portal to all local archives in the Netherlands. The site permits to search all listed archives by keyword, as well as to browse through the collections in alphabetical order. A directory of archives, with address and contact information completes the site.
- Beeldband WO2 (Image Bank WW2)Brings together all images of the Second World War from the collections of Dutch war and resistance museums, commemoration centers, and the Netherlands Institute for War Documentation, as well as contributions by private citizens
- Beeldbank van de NationaalarchiefThe image database of the Dutch National Archives contains about half a million photographs from the late 19th Century to the recent past, documenting all aspects of Dutch history and culture and all disciplines, including its former colonies
- BelgicaDigitized collections at the Bibliothèque royale de Belgique
- Bibliografie van de Literaire Tijdschriften in Vlaanderen en Nederland (BLTVN)Provides an overview of the contents of the most important literary magazines in Flanders and the Netherlands from 2001 on (for 1972-2000, see the print version)
- Bibliopolis: History of the Printed Book in the NetherlandsScholarly, interactive information system providing insights into the national history of the printed book in the Netherlands
- A Brief History of the Dutch LanguageFrom: The Low Countries, Jaargang 4,. Stichting Ons. Erfdeel, Rekkem 1996-1997
- The Canon of Dutch LiteratureAs determined in 2002 by members of the Maatschappij der Nederlandse Letterkunde (Society of Dutch Literature)
- DelpherFull-text access to millions of pages in Dutch-language books, newspapers, and magazines from the 17th through the 20th centuries
- Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren (DBNL)The Digital Library of Dutch Literature contains literary texts, secondary literature, and additional information such as biographies, portraits, and hyperlinks, as well as a large number of studies and primary sources in the broad field of the Dutch (speaking) cultural history
- Digitized books and manuscripts at the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (Nationale Bibliotheek van Nederland)The National Library of the Netherlands has made many of its treasures available online -- see, for instance, the Gruuthusehandschrift, with its Eligiuslied and other early texts
- Dutch Studies Web (ESS)Collection of scholarly resources for scholarly resources in Dutch (and Belgian) Studies from the European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries
- Dutch Theatre database (Census Nederlands Toneel)Online searchable listing and bibliography of 11,900 plays prior to 1803, with more than 550 available in digital format; a project of Ceneton at the University of Leiden
- Erasmus OnlineA database for searching and locating more than 5,000 rare editions and early translations of Erasmus's works. Created and maintained by the Erasmus Center for Early Modern Studies in Rotterdam
- EuropeanaDigitized multimedia library of European cultural heritage: books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
- EYE Film Institute NetherlandsFormed by a merger of the Filmmuseum, Holland Film, Filmbank, and the Nederlands Instituut voor Filmeducatie, the EYE Film Instittute is dedicated to developing a viable film industry in the Netherlands and to promoting Dutch film in Europe and abroad. EYE’s collection of Dutch films is the largest in the world, providing an overview of Dutch film history since 1905
- Geheugen van NederlandThe Geheugen van Nederland ("Memory of the Netherlands") Digital Library at the Koninklijke Bibliotheek provides access to a large and continuously growing number of digital collections, including illustrations, photographs, posters, texts, film, and audio fragments
- De Geïntegreerde Taal-Bank: Historische woordenboeken op internetProvides access to the "Oudnederlands Woordenboek, " the "Vroegmiddelnederlands Woordenboek," the "Middelnederlandsch Woordenboek," the "Woordenboek der Nederlandsche Taal," and the "Woordenboek der Friese taal"
- Historici.nlFull-text portal made possible by Huygens Institute for the History of the Netherlands and the Royal Dutch Historical Society, providing access to numerous seminal works on Dutch history from all periods, along with the latest news in the field and connections to a community of those interested in and conducting resarch in the history of the Netherlands
- History of the Netherlands: Primary Documents (EuroDocs)Collection of links to primary resources and documents related to the political, economic, social, and cultural history of the Netherlands, compiled by the European Studies Bibliographer at Brigham Young University
- Huygens Instituut voor Nederlandse Geschiedenis / Huygens Institute of the History of The Netherlands, The HagueThe Huygens Institute of the History of the Netherlands (Huygens ING) has digitized the Rijks Geschiedkundige Publicatiën (RGP), a "series of source editions, the first volume of which was published in 1905. Today, the series comprises 450 volumes that contain documents about the history of the Netherlands." The RGP series is only one of the many historical documents and reference works digitized and made available by the INGH
- The International Institute of Social History (Amsterdam)One of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labor movement in particular, holding over 2,700 archival collections. Available collections are accessible through the online catalog and an online index of archives and inventories
- Journal of Dutch LiteratureEnglish language, peer reviewed journal dedicated to the study of Dutch literature from the Middle Ages to the present day with an aim to present literary phenomena in the Dutch language against the broader perspective of international literary and cultural research. Features general, historical, theoretical, interdisciplinary and intercultural articles as well as reviews
- Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of the Netherlands)The library's home page is an entry-point for Dutch bibliography. Additionally, see the wide variety of web exhibitions, digital books, and displays of special collections in Dutch literature, history, and culture
- Literatuurgeschiedenis.nlOverview of the history of Dutch literature
- Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts: National Library of the NetherlandsA database containing information about the illuminated medieval manuscripts of the Koninklijke Bibliotheek and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum. View superb examples from the collection in the "Highlights" section
- Medieval Manuscripts in Dutch Collections (MMDC)This database contains descriptions of all medieval western manuscripts written in Latin script and produced up to c. 1550 now preserved in public and semi-public collections in the Netherlands. These include the collections of libraries, museums and archives, as well as the collections of monastic orders and some other private institutions that are open to researchers
- Nationaal ArchiefThe "Nationaal Archief" is the largest public archive in the Netherlands. The collections of the National Archives span 93 kilometers of documents, maps, drawings and photographs. The collection is made up of archives supplied by: * the central government * the Province of Zuid-Holland and the former County of Holland. * private institutions and individuals
- National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System (NARCIS)Publicly-available online database with information on scientific research, researchers, and research institutes, as well as links to open access publications from the repositories of all Dutch universities
- Nederlandse letterkundeAn academic peer-reviewed journal for Dutch literature, with contributions covering the entire spectrum of Dutch literature from the Middle Ages to the present
- NRC BoekenBlog of the NRC Handelsblad's weekly literary supplement
- TextualScholarship.nlProvides access to works from the Middeleeuwen (~ 1500), Vroegmodern (1500 - 1800), and Modern (1800 -) eras
- Woordenlijst Nederlandse TaalOfficial Dutch spelling list and rules
- World History at KMLA: History of the NetherlandsOrganized chronologically; entries include topical notes as well as maps and links to additional resources
Library Catalogs for Dutch Studies
Netherlandish books books published in the Low Countries and Dutch books published abroad before 1601
Netherlandish Books offers a unique overview of what was printed during the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries in the Low Countries. This bibliography lists descriptions of over 32,000 editions together with an introduction and indexes
The Short Title Catalogue Netherlands (STCN) and the Short Title Catalogue Vlaanderen now available online (see below)
Short Title Catalogue Netherlands (STCN)
The Short-Title Catalogue, Netherlands (STCN) is the Dutch retrospective bibliography for the period 1540-1800. The STCN will eventually contain bibliographical descriptions of all books published in the Netherlands between those dates, and of all books in Dutch published abroad. The STCN is currently under development and will be completed in 2009
Short Title Catalogue Vlaanderen
The Short-Title Catalogue Flanders (STCV) is an online bibliography of books printed in 17th-century Flanders. The initial phase of the project, focused primarily on Dutch-language materials printed between 1601 and 1700 within the present-day boundaries of Flanders (including Brussels). The project continues with works printed in other languages than Dutch (Latin, Spanish, French, etc.) that are currently being added to the database
Lib-Web-Cats
Provides links to web-based library catalogs worldwide, including:
Dutch Materials in UW-Madison Special Collections
The Dutch Collection, also known as the Tank Collection
Some 4,800 volumes and 374 pamphlets on theology, history, travels, and science from the library of the Reverend R.J. van der Meulen, minister of the Dutch Reformed Church, donated by his daughter, Mrs. N.O. Tank. The bulk of the collection pertains to Protestant thought, particularly Calvinism. It includes virtually all the sermons of the major Calvinist preachers of the 18th-century, many of the 16th and 17th centuries, plus numerous tracts by less-known writers. Inventory available, and cataloged in the Library Catalog
Dutch pamphlets
Some 200 lampoons, libels, and broadsides in prose as well as in verse, covering the second half of the war with Spain (1568-1648), the truce (1609-1621), and the wars with England and France, with special emphasis on 1672, known as the year of disasters. The collection details the theological controversy between the Remonstrant and Contra-Remonstrant believers in the Dutch Reformed Church (remonstrants wanted to soften the Calvinistic doctrine of predestination) and includes acts, decrees, and articles of faith from the 1618-1619 Synod of the Dutch Reformed Church. Indexed in Koninklijke Bibliotheek (Netherlands) Catalogus van de pamfletten-verzameling by W.P.C. Knuttel. Shelf-list available in the Department card catalog (drawer labeled Knuttel)