German Language Humanities : Film -- Print Resources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Guides and Film Histories  | Select Topics

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias in Film Studies  (many with an emphasis on Germanic Film Studies)

Cinegraph. Lexikon zum deutschsprachigen Film
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1998 A2 C535 1984
Non-Circulating

Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.45 H36 2006
Non-Circulating

The Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 C65 2009
Non-Circulating

Deutsche Tonfilme. Filmlexikon der abendfüllenden deutschen und deutschsprachigen Tonfilme nach ihren deutschen Uraufführungen. 15 vols. 1988-
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 K456 1988

Encyclopedia of European Cinema
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.5 E8 V56 1995b
Non-Circulating

Das grosse Lexikon der DEFA-Spielfilme. Die vollständige Dokumentation aller DEFA-Spielfilme von 1946 bis 1993
Call number: PN1999 D4 G76 2000

The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 4th ed.
Location: Memorial Library Reference Desk (Room 262)
Call number: PN1997.8 I58 2000
Non-Circulating

Lexikon Literaturverfilmungen.Verzeichnis deutschsprachiger Filme, 1945-2000. 2nd ed..
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 S359 2001
Non-Circulating

Pre-cinema History: An Encyclopaedia and Annotated Bibliography of the Moving Image Before 1896 /
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: TR848 H38 1993
Non-Circulating

Weimar Cinema and After: Germany's Historical Imaginary
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 E58 2000

Wörterbuch Film & Video
On order, 2013

Guides and Film Histories

The BFI Companion to German Cinema
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 B45 1999
Non-Circulating

Chronik des deutschen Films
Location:  Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 P75 1995
Non-Circulating

Cinema of Germany
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 C56 2012

A Companion to German Cinema
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 C6455 2012
Also available as an electronic resource

Contemporary German Cinema
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 C66 2012

The Continental Actress: European Film Stars of the Postwar Era -- Biographies, Criticism, Filmographies, Bibliographies
Location: Verona Shelving
Call number: PN2570 S4 1990

A Culture of Light: Cinema and Technology in 1920s Germany
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 G84 2005

East German Cinema: DEFA and Film History
Call number: PN1999 D4 H45 2013

From Calilgari to Hitler: A Psychological History of the German Film
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 K7 1974

The German Cinema Book
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 G47 2002

German Cinema: Since Unification
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 G358 2006

German Expressionist Cinema: The World of Light and Shadow
Location: College Library Main Collection (1st Floor West, Room 1191)
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 R56 2008

German National Cinema
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 H28 2002

Geschichte des deutschen Films 2nd ed.
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 G385 2004

Handbuch Nachkriegskultur. Literatur, Sachbuch und Film In Deutschland (1945-1962)
Licensed eBook

Magill's Survey of Cinema, Foreign Language Films 8 vols, 1985.
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PN1993.45 M34 1985
Non-Circulating

The Moving Image: An International History of Film, Television, and Video
Call number: PN1993.5 A1 W95 1989

New German Cinema: A History
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 E57 1989

The New German Cinema: Music, History, and the Matter of Style
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 F57 2004
Also available an an electronic resource

A New History of German Cinema
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 N485 2012

Postwall German Cinema: History, Film History and Cinephilia
Electronic resource

Projecting History: German Nonfiction Cinema, 1967-2000
Call number: PN1995.9 D6 A39 2002

The Promise of Cinema: German Film Theory, 1907-1933
Call number: PN1993.5.G3 P765 2016
See also: http://www.thepromiseofcinema.com/

Recherche—Film. Quellen und Methoden der Filmforschung
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 R37 1997

Von Caligari zu Hitler. Eine psychologische Geschichte des deutschen Films
Call number: PT2621 R135 A12 2004 Bd.2 pt.1

West German Cinema, 1985-1990: A Reference Handbook
Location: Verona Storage
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 H426 1992
 

Select Topics (To discover more, click on subject headings in individual records)

Want it all? Search the library catalog for "Motion Pictures AND Germany"

Berlin Alexanderplatz: Radio, Film, and the Death of Weimar Culture
Call number: PT2607 O35 B51353 2006
Also available as an electronic resource

Between Two Worlds: The Jewish Presence in German and Austrian Film, 1910-1933
Call number: PN1995.9 J46 P73 2005

Caligari's Heirs: The German Cinema of Fear after 1945
Call number: PN1995.9 H6 C37 2007

Cinema and National Identity in a Divided Germany, 1979-1989: The Split Screen
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 M48 2000

Contemporary Jewish Reality in Germany and Its Reflection in Film
Call number: PN1995.9 J46 C66 2013

The Continental Actress: European Film Stars of the Postwar Era -- Biographies, Criticism, Filmographies, Bibliographies
Location: Verona Shelving
Call number: PN2570 S4 1990

Conversations with Experience: Feminist Hermeneutics and the Autobiographical Films of German Women
Call number: PN1995.9 W6 S77 2004

The Cosmopolitan Screen: German Cinema and the Global Imaginary, 1945 to the Present
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 C673 2007
Also available as an electronic resource at HathiTrust

The Dark Mirror: German Cinema between Hitler and Hollywood
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 K645 2002

DEFA: East German Cinema, 1946-1992
Call number: PN1999 D4 D34 1999

East German Cinema: DEFA and Film History
Call number: PN1999 D4 H45 2013

Expressionist Film: New Perspectives
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 E94 2006

Framing Attention: Windows on Modern German Culture
Location: Art Library (Kohler Art Library) Regular Size Shelving
Call number: NX650 W57 K64 2007

Gender and Sexuality in Weimar Modernity: Film, Literature, and "New Objectivity”
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 M39 2001

German Essays on Film
Call number: PN1994 G425 2004

Nach-Wende-Narrationen. Das wiedervereinigte Deutschland im Spiegel von Literatur und Film
Call number: PT405 N268 2010

No Place Like Home: Locations of Heimat in German Cinema
Call number: PN1995.9 H4 V66 2005
Also available as an electronic resource

Post-wall German Cinema and National History: Utopianism and Dissent
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 O25 2012

The Queer German Cinema
Call number: PN1995.9 H55 K89 2000

Take Two: Fifties Cinema in Divided Germany
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 T35 2007

The Triumph of the Ordinary: Depictions of Daily Life in the East German Cinema, 1949-1989
Call number: PN1993.5 G3 F37 2002
E-book: https://search.library.wisc.edu/catalog/9911032405802121

German Language Databases for German Culture, Film, and Theater available via Memorial Library