German Language Humanities : Tips and Tools
Citation and Writing Assistance
- Citing Sources (UW Research Guide)Print and electronic sources for many styles, with examples. Also includes links to information about tools to collect, manage, and format citations
- Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)Annotated Bibliography
Research and Citation Sources - The UW-Madison Writing CenterLocated in 6171 Helen C. White Hall, helps students with their writing skills through in-person and online assistance. The link above leads to a page containing documentation related to a number of citation styles.
Ask a Librarian
Where is this book?
Copy and paste call number from catalog record. Be sure to note any location information, such as General Size Shelving, Reference Stacks, Oversize, etc.
List-servs
- H-GermanPrimarily historical discussion and views on German Studies. Includes calls for proposal, new publication announcements, reviews of recent books.
- H-GermanistikDiscussion forum for German literature and philology. Includes calls for proposal, new publication announcements, reviews of recent books.
- H-NetCovers all areas of the arts, humanities and social sciences. Discipline and topical networks.
- H-TGSH-Transnational German Studies provides a moderated interdisciplinary forum for the discussion of topics relevant to the study of the German diaspora and intercultural transfer between German and non-German societies from the 17th century to the present. H-TGS was formerly H-GAGCS (German-American and German-Canadian Studies).
- WIG (Women in German)Devoted to the feminist study of German culture. The organization's twice-yearly referred journal Feminist German Studies (formerly Women in German Yearbook) can be accessed online through the Library Catalog.
Campus Resources
Organizations at UW-Madison with German language / cultural / historical programming
Center for German & European Studies
German Department
Max Kade Institute for German-American Studies
Mayrent Institute for Yiddish Culture
George L. Mosse Program in History
Some essential tips and tools
Graduate Research This micro-course is composed of five lessons that introduce you to resources and services that can help you conduct your research efficiently, engage with scholarly conversations in your field, and share your contributions with the world.
Library Research Tutorials Research Basics, Finding Articles, Finding Books, Evaluating Sources, Citing Sources, Research Life Cycle, Scholarship as Conversation, and more.
Requesting materials not available on campus
Writing a literature review: UC Santa Cruz | University of Toronto
Individual writing assistance (UW-Madison) / Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Keeping Current
BrowZine
An app for iPads and Android tablets, lets you browse, read, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your tablet device. Best of all, the Libraries have picked up the cost!
Keeping Current in the Literature
A research guide related to the Graduate Support Series workshop of the same name to help you stay up-to-date with new publications in your field.
JournalTOCs: Largest searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs) -- contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 18,380 journals directly collected from over 1025 publishers. Find and follow journals in your subject area!
Literature and Book Market in Germany: Selected Links 
(via the Goethe Institut)
Neuerscheinungen (Germanistik-im-Netz, weekly updates)
ZEIT ONLINE: Neues aus der Literatur
Current Events Web Sites
Graduate Support Series Workshops
The Graduate Support Series is a special set of free workshops offered by the UW-Madison Libraries in conjunction with the Graduate School's Professional Development opportunities. The library workshops in the Graduate Support Series are specially tailored to those engaged with graduate study, and cover pertinent topics such as:
- Finding external funding for graduate study
- Organizing your research materials with citation managers (such as Mendeley, EndNote, or Zotero)
- Researching the literature in different subject areas, from life sciences to the arts and humanities
Finding German Literature in the Library
Books of German-language literature and translations into English, as well as criticism, analysis, etc. of German literature, are all located in the same general area, in the call numbers PT1 - PT4897. Unless the materials are Reference, Microform, or Oversize, you will find this collection on 4M South of Memorial Library.
- PT1 - PT80 - Literary History and Criticism
- PT83 - PT871 - History of German Literature
- PT175 - PT230 - Medieval
- PT236 - PT405 - Modern
- PT500 - PT597 - Poetry
- PT605 - PT709 - Drama
- PT711 - PT871 - Prose
- PT1100 - PT1479 - Collections of German Literature
- PT1501 - PT2728 - Individual authors or works
- PT1501 - PT1695 - Authors and works, Middle High German, ca. 1050
- PT1701 - PT1797 - Authors and works, 1500 - ca. 1700
- PT1799 - PT2592 - Authors and works, 1700 - ca. 1860/1870
- PT2600 - PT2653 - Authors and works, 1860/1870 - 1960
- PT2660 - PT2688 - Authors and works, 1961 - 2000
- PT2700 - PT2728 - Authors and works, 2001-
- PT3701 - PT3971 - German Literature: Provincial, Local, Colonial, Etc.
- PT3701 - PT3746 - East Germany
- PT4801 - PT4897 - Low German Literature
Books on German cinema will be found on 2M North with the call numbers:
- PN1993.5 G3 - PN1993.5 G4
Related areas of interest include:
- PT5001 - PT5980 - Dutch Literature
- PT6000 - PT6467.36 - Flemish Literature since 1830
Special Collections and Microforms
Our Special Collections contain a wealth of rare books, pamphlets, and documents, most of which can be identified through the Library Catalog
Learn more about using UW-Madison's Special Collections here -- examine collection strengths here
--------------------
Many significant collections of primary research materials may be found in non-print formats such as microfilm or microfiche.
Learn more about Memorial Library's Microform/Media Center here
BrowZine
