German Language Humanities : Image and Sound Resources

One of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery dating from 1826 to the present

Covering many time periods and cultures, ARTstor documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. As of 2014, more than 21,000 images of key works from the Berlin State Museums (Staatliche Museen zu Berlin) have been included

Provides more than two million images of art and architecture in thirteen European countries

With over 4 million images available, the Deutsche Fotothek (German Photographic Collection) in the Saxon State and University Library (SLUB) Dresden is a universal archive for art and cultural history, with an emphasis on the history of art, architecture and music, regional history, and the history of technology

EUscreen includes videos, images, text and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives ranging from the early 1900s until today

Provides information and short audio samples of German dialects spoken in the United States, including Lëtzebuergesch (Luxembourgish), dating back to the 1940s

Deutsche Wochenschau Filmarchiv
Provides free access to thousands of German newsreel films, produced weekly from late 1945 through 1977, as well as to other collections of films. For broadband video-streams, visitors need to register; alternatively, one can research and view resources by using "guest" as Nutzer and Passwort

Here you can listen to a collection of more than 600 German poems selected and read by actor and stage director Fritz Stavenhagen

Produced by the German Historical Museum in Berlin, the LeMO Archiv provides free access to a large number of online primary resources, both textual and audio-visual, documenting German history from the mid-19th-century to the present

Poems are read both in their original languages and various translations

Contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news

The Jukebox includes recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives, providing.historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. Under "Advanced Search" one can select Language, including German, German (Swiss), German [and] English, and German [and] French

World's largest classical music listening service; provides online streaming access to more than 500,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Searchable by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, or genre. with full-text searching of CD liner notes. Biographical information about selected composers and performers supplement the recordings

Provides access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, including rare or fragile items with broad research value