- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- German Language Humanities
- Language Dictionaries
German Language Humanities : Language Dictionaries
A guide to research materials in the areas of Germanic languages and literature
dict.cc
LEO (German-English Dictionary)
Use the search box below to search LEO, the German-English online dictionary that provides comprehensive definitions, verb conjugations, possible adjective endings, etc.
Search Tips and Features:
- Verbs - cick on the
symbol and select the link under "Konjugation / Deklination:" provided by canoonet. This will provide details on how the verb is conjugated for various subjects and tenses. - Pronunciation - click the ► symbol to hear the word pronounced.
- Adjectives - cick on the symbol and select the link under "Konjugation / Deklination:" provided by canoonet. Provides details on adjective ending changes for various subjects and tenses.
- Idioms/Phrases - enter an idiom or phrase into the search box. While a specific definition might not be available, there are often forum discussions on the phrase or idiom (e.g. discussion of the idiom "the early bird catches the worm").
Verb Conjugation
Language Dictionaries
- Die Deutsche RechtschreibungProvides links to PDFs describing the new rules determining German spelling along with word lists.
- Deutsches Wörterbuch / von Jacob und Wilhelm GrimmLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PF3625 G7 1965
Non-Circulating
Online at Wörterbuchnetz - dict.ccEnglish-German and multlingual searchable dictionary; well-organized results with many helpful examples
- Das digitale Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache des 20. JahrhundertsA project of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences, this digital dictionary and corpus of contemporary German is based on the six-volume Wörterbuch der deutschen Gegenwartssprache.
- Duden, Deutsches UniversalwörterbuchLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: F3625 D85 1989
Non-Circulating - Duden: Das grosse Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache in acht BändenLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: F3625 D82 1993
Non-Circulating - Goethe-WörterbuchBased on nearly 3.2 million text-quotations, this project records and interprets the entire vocabulary transmitted in the works of Goethe, drawing on all available documentary sources
Location: Memorial Library Reference Desk (Room 262)
Call number: PT2046 A6
Non-Circulating
Online at Wörterbuchnetz - Goethe InstitutLinks to online dictionaries, encyclopedias, specialist terminology, and translation resources
- Langenscheidts Grosswörterbuch Englisch-DeutschLocation: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call Number: PF3640 M54 - LEOLEO provides an extensive and easy to use English/German dictionary, with pronunciation; also provides smart-phone apps
- Mittelhochdeutsches Handwörterbuch von Matthias LexerLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PF4327 L4
Non-Circulating
Online at Wörterbuchnetz - Mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch: mit Benutzung des Nachlasses von Georg Friedrich BeneckeLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PF3625 B4
Non-Circulating
Online at Wörterbuchnetz - The New and Complete Dictionary of the German and English Languages (1796-1799)Composed chiefly after the German dictionaries of Mr. Adelung and of Mr. Schwan.
Vol. I: Containing the Letters A-G (1796)
Vol. II: Containing the Letters H-R (1798)
Vol. III: Containing the Letters S-Z (1799) - Online-Wortschatz-Informationsystem Deutsch (OWID)Portal to several academic lexicographic resources for contemporary German, compiled by the Institute for the German Language in Mannheim. OWID currently provides access to a dictionary of contemporary German called elexiko, a dictionary of neologisms, a small dictionary of collocations, discourse dictionaries covering the topic of ''guilt'' in the early post-war era 1945-1955 and the protest/democratic discourse of 1967-1968, and a dictionary of 300 German proverbs. Additional dictionaries will follow
- Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-GermanLocation: Memorial Library Reference Desk (Room 262)
Call number: PF3640 O94 2005
Non-Circulating - Oxford Language Dictionaries OnlineFully searchable and comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, with unique study materials providing additional resources the help with learning and using the language
- PONS BildwörterbuchA visual reference tool designed to help discover the right word at a glance. Provides a unique and stimulating language-learning and vocabulary dictionary that answers questions about function, significance, and purpose (German and English versions available)
- WörterbuchnetzA project of the Trier Center for Digital Humanities, this portal provides access to a corpus of 25 historically significant dictionaries in Germanic Languages, with more to follow
- Zeno.orgSearchable full-text portal for a number of 19th and early 20th century encyclopedias