German Language Humanities : German Literary Studies

Annual Bibliographies of additions to Washington University Libraries' distinctive collection of contemporary German-language literature, the largest of such collections in North America

The Bibliographie der deutschen Sprache- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) is a German-language periodical index and bibliography of other publications in all aspects of German language and literature. Edited at the City and University Library of Frankfurt am Main, it reports on significantly more German-language publications than do chiefly English-language literature indexes (MLA, Humanities Abstracts, etc.). (Updates vary)
Go directly to Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars the primary source material critical to those disciplines. Some examples of strong collections at the CRL related to German Studies: German Baroque literature, 1500-1700; German drama, 16th-early 20th centuries; Nazi Party Archives; Bibliothek der Frauenfrage in Deutschland nach Sveistrup; Satirische Zeitschriften Sexualerleben und Körperkultur (1880-1932). Some items are digital; most paper and microform materials can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Go directly to the Center for Research Libraries
Search CRL via WorldCat

Germanistik is the central international journal on the study of German Language and Literature, including peripheral fields. Now fifty years of German philology - the history of the discipline both systematized and critically reviewed in more than 60,000 abstracts - are available online and fully searchable. The online edition provides extensive indexing and factual coverage for every entry to quickly supply users with information on the content of the respective book or article. The database provides a category-specific and detailed search providing differentiated and convenient access to authors, editors, article and review writers, titles, reviews and publication years. From its 20th year (1979) onward, Germanistik also provides keywords. All relevant data is cross-linked. (Updated annually)
Go directly to Germanistik Online Datenbank

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 periodicals in English and other languages as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore. Though reviews of individual literary and scholarly works are not included, broader review essays ARE included. Many articles listed have no abstracts. More than 60,000 citations from journals in JSTOR's Language and Literature collection are also included, providing access back to the 1880s for those titles. (Updated 10 times per year)
Go directly to MLA International Bibliography (Literature) via ProQuest
View tutorial videos on searching MLA International Bibliography

An international Frankfurt Book Fair office seeking to connect American editors with German rights directors, editors, translators, and readers. See especially New Books in German

Access to recent reviews in full text

A monthly review journal of literature and cultural studies, edited by Thomas Anz. The first number appeared in December 1998

Presents new publications from the German book market as selected by a jury of critics

Germanistik-im-Netz, weekly updates

1000 years of Black history in German-speaking lands, and why it matters

Forum for ongoing scholarly inquiry regarding how structural oppressions continue to inform German Studies and seeking to promote advocacy and access within the field