German Language Humanities : Home
- Dutch Language and Literature
- General Reference ToolsToggle Dropdown
- German-Americana Resources
- German CultureToggle Dropdown
- German Literary StudiesToggle Dropdown
- German Linguistics
- Help!Toggle Dropdown
- Philosophy, German
- Yiddish Studies
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 890-2986
- H-GermanPrimarily historical discussion and views on German Studies. Includes calls for proposal, new publication announcements, reviews of recent books.
- H-GermanistikDiscussion forum for German literature and philology. Includes calls for proposal, new publication announcements, reviews of recent books.
- H-NetCovers all areas of the arts, humanities and social sciences. Discipline and topical networks.
- H-TGSH-Transnational German Studies provides a moderated interdisciplinary forum for the discussion of topics relevant to the study of the German diaspora and intercultural transfer between German and non-German societies from the 17th century to the present. H-TGS was formerly H-GAGCS (German-American and German-Canadian Studies).
- WIG (Women in German)Devoted to the feminist study of German culture. The organization's twice-yearly referred journal Feminist German Studies (formerly Women in German Yearbook) can be accessed online through the Library Catalog.
Citation and Writing Assistance
- Citing Sources (UW Research Guide)Print and electronic sources for many styles, with examples. Also includes links to information about tools to collect, manage, and format citations
- Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)Annotated Bibliography
Research and Citation Sources
- The UW-Madison Writing CenterLocated in 6171 Helen C. White Hall, helps students with their writing skills through in-person and online assistance. The link above leads to a page containing documentation related to a number of citation styles.
UW-Madison has been a leader in the field of German Studies (now part of the Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic) since 1890. German-language holdings may be found within the collections of Memorial Library, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and the Max Kade Institute for German-American Studies. These collections emphasize the languages, literatures, and cultures of German-speaking countries, as well as the German element in the United States, and include Germanic linguistics, foreign language education, German-Jewish relations, and more. Dutch literature and linguistics comprise an evolving component of our collections.
This guide features both library and Internet resources in the area of German Studies. Resources have been selected to help users identify current trends in German Studies in general as well as to highlight particular holdings at UW-Madison.
While updates will occur periodically, please let me know if links have gone awry or if there are resources you would like to see noted here. E-mail me with comments on this guide or questions regarding your research objectives and search strategies!
General Reference Tools for German Language Humanities
Bibliographies | Biographical Resources | Book Reviews | Dissertations | Encyclopedias and Handbooks | Image and Sound Resources | Language Dictionaries | Library Catalogs | Indexes to Journal Articles | Journals | Manuscripts and Archives | Open-Access Resources
Websites and Primary Sources
Just beginning? Be sure to visit Tips and Tools in the Help Section
Be sure to also see resources specific to:
Dutch Language and Literature | German Americana | German Culture | German Linguistics | Literary Studies
Search for holdings in libraries across the U.S. and worldwide in OCLC WorldCat
...or use WorldCat FirstSearch, a legacy catalog (Recommended, as this will also show UW-Madison holdings in the search results)
Search holdings for UW-Madison Libraries
A. R. Hohlfeld
A. R. Hohlfeld served as chair of UW-Madison's Department of German [now the Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic] from 1904 until his retirement in 1936. In 1906 he wrote an article for Die Glocke, a German-American journal published in Chicago, in which he assessed the state of German Studies at UW-Madison, including the holdings of German-language materials at the University Library (at that time housed in the building that is now the Wisconsin Historical Society).
For a more recent overview of our German-language humanities collection, please click here.
Did You Know . . .
The most complete collection of beekeeping literature in the German language outside the Berlin Zoological Museum is held at Steenbock Library on the UW-Madison campus?
Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, dissertations, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources and makes them available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
Three electronic resources helpful for German Studies!
- Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)Coverage, 1985 to the present. A major bibliography for German language and literature
- Germanistik Online DatenbankCoverage starting in 1960, with annual updates
- MLA International BibliographyCoverage from 1926 to the present. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide
- Understanding the MLA International BibliographyFree online course to teach students how to use the MLA International Bibliography for college-level research. Modules focus on searching the bibliography for scholarly publications in four disciplines: folklore, linguistics, film (including television, video, and other broadcast media), and rhetoric and composition
To discover earlier works, consult these print resources:
- Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums (GV) 1700-1910Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: Z2221 G469
- Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums (GV) 1911-1965Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: Z2221 G47
Together, these two titles are a comprehensive bibliography of primary and secondary German-language materials for the given time periods
- Grundriss zur Geschichte der Deutschen DichtungLocation: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PT85 G7 (2nd ed.) and PT85 G72 (3rd ed.)
Considered the most important bibliographic tool for German literature up to the 1880s
Memorial Library's Special Collections
Our Special Collections contain a wealth of rare books, pamphlets, and documents, most of which can be identified through the Library Catalog.
Learn more about using UW-Madison's Special Collections here -- examine collection strengths in European history, literature, and social sciences here.
Organizations at UW-Madison with German language / cultural / historical programming