- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- German Language Humanities
- Philosophy, German
German Language Humanities : Philosophy, German
A guide to research materials in the areas of Germanic languages and literature
Selected Resources for German-language Philosophy
Please also see my General Philosophy Research Guide!
Electronic Resources
- correspSearch: Search scholarly editions of lettersSearch indexes of various letter collections (digital or print) by sender, addressee, location written, location sent, and date. Bibliographic information for the scholarly editions can be found in the data overview. The database is continually growing and contains several collections of interest to Germanists and philosophers. Examples include:
• Briefwechsel Sauer-Seuffert, Digitale Edition (sauer-seuffert.onb.ac.at).
Show all letters from this collection
• Briefe und Texte aus dem intellektuellen Berlin um 1800. Hrsg. v. Anne Baillot. Berlin: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. http://tei.ibi.hu-berlin.de/berliner-intellektuelle
• Friedrich Schleiermacher – Briefwechsel 1808 (= Friedrich Schleiermacher: Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Abt. V, Bd. 10). Hg. v. Simon Gerber und Sarah Schmidt. Berlin: de Gruyter 2015.
Show all letters from this publication
• Friedrich Schleiermacher – Briefwechsel 1809-181 (= Friedrich Schleiermacher: Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Abt. V, Bd. 11). Hg. v. Simon Gerber und Sarah Schmidt. Berlin, 2015.
Show all letters from this publication - DigiZeitschriftenIncludes 7 titles in philosophy, such as Archiv für Begriffsgeschichte, Philosophia naturalis : Journal for the Philosophy of Nature, and Zeitschrift für philosophische Forschung
- Immanuel Kant: Gesammelte SchriftenThe 23 volumes of the Akademie Ausgabe are available in searchable full text
- Information PhilosophieAn Internet Portal for the journal Information Philosophie, which covers the current German philosophical scene. Contains essays, discussion papers, reviews, etc., along with information on conferences, lectures, and awards
- Kant on the WebIncludes links to German originals of Kant's writings, Kant resources on this and other web sites, and translations into other languagess on this web site
- Leibniz TranslationsEnglish translations of various papers by Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716), including many not previously available in English
- Nietzsche SourceA site devoted to the publication of scholarly content on the work and life of Friedrich Nietzsche. Includes issues of the journal Studia Nietzscheana, the complete Digitale Kritische Gesamtausgabe Werke und Briefe, as well as facsimile reproductions of the entire Nietzsche archive
- Nietzsches WerkeAvailable through Past Masters
- Past MastersThe Past Masters series from InteLex comprises full-text electronic editions of works by major philosophical figures
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyFree online encyclopedia of philosophy with entries written by scholars and experts; aims to remain a current and up-to-date reference work
- zeno.org (Philosophie)Full text library of works by important philosophers from antiquity to the beginning of the 20th century
Print Resources
- Ästhetische Grundbegriffe (ÄGB): historisches Wörterbuch in sieben BändenMemorial Library Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South (No loan)
BH39 A83 2000 - The Bloomsbury dictionary of eighteenth-century German philosophersMemorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
B2615 .D53 2016 - German dictionary of philosophical terms = Wörterbuch philosophischer Fachbegriffe EnglischMemorial Library Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South (No loan)
B43 W29 1997
German-English dictionary of philosophical terms (2 vols) - Grundriss der Geschichte der PhilosophieA thorough revision and updating of Friedrich Ueberweg's 19th-century multi-volume scholarly history of philosophy, this work-in-progress will encompass 10 fundamental divisions, including 7 chronological periods of Western philosophy and 3 non-Western geographical/cultural domains.Volumes include thorough bibliographies incorporating monographic and periodical literature as well as dissertations in all Western European languages
- Historisches Wörterbuch der PhilosophieMemorial Library Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South (No loan)
B43 R58
. . . and now for something completely different. . .
The Mostly German Philosophers Love Song
J. Boor
Hegel, I Goethe Goethe have ya,'
Cause I Nietzsche, Nietzsche, Nietzsche so bad.
I'd like to Leibniz the stars with you.
But I know you'd Schopenhauer late, like you always do.
So I say, Hegel ...
Heidegger lovely ways, she's got all I want.
And I'd like to Hess some of her goodness, but I Kant.
So I say, Hegel ...
Spinoza long since I have seen your face.
And so be-Feuerbach I shall not leave this place.
But I say, Hegel ...
I Gadamer-ciful reply from her.
But as to Husserl-ove, I cannot say for sure.
So, I say, Hegel ...
Well I don't Kierkegaard my heart with all my strength.
But now I've been in such a Ficht(e) for such a length.
And I don't know if my Wittgenstein to sing this lonely song.
That's why Einstein away from you from now on.
But I say, Hegel ...