German Language Humanities : Manuscripts and Archives

Presents archival finding aids prepared and contributed by the following institutions: The University of Wisconsin Archives and Records Management Service, University of Wisconsin Memorial Library Department of Special Collections, Wisconsin Historical Society, and the Center for the Study of Upper Midwestern Cultures. These finding aids describe unpublished primary resources held in institutions throughout the Midwest

Catalog includes more than four million records describing archival materials.owned by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives worldwide

Links to state, church, and military archives, compiled by Andreas Hanacek

Provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent

Unified search interface for the collections of the Bundesarchiv, Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, Stiftung Landesmuseum für Technik und Arbeit, Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (including the Geheimes Staatsarchiv, the Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, the Institut für Museumsforschung, and the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin)

The Bundesarchiv has placed a large number of finding aids online and provides searchable catalogs for select collections, such as the Zentrale Datenbank Nachlässe (see below), as well as the Kabinettsprotokolle Online.  In addition, the Bundesarchiv is working on digitizing its vast holdings of archival images and making these accessible through the Digital Picture Archives of the Federal Archives

The DLA documents German language literature and culture from 1750 to the present, with core holdings consisting of the archives and papers of literary figures, scholars, and publishing houses

Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts, many of Germanic origin, held in North American institutions

Provides open access to primary historical documents in transcription, facsimile, or translation

Explore the digital resources of Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives, and audiovisual collections

Collection of links compiled by H-German

Provided information on notable collections of books, magazines, newspapers, music, prints, maps, and ephemeral literature (excluding manuscripts) held in German and Austrian libraries and archives

Inventory of German medieval manuscripts. Includes bibliography of research literature

Index of manuscript collections held in libraries and archives in Switzerland

Prepared by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries, this guide unites web-based and printed resources to provide information about libraries and archives in western Europe

Excellent collection of links compiled by the European Studies Bibliographer at Brigham Young University

The IZA is the largest archive of newspaper clippings of literary journalism and criticism in the German speaking world. Includes articles in the fields of literature, language, theater, recorded, and filmed literature, from 1960 until today

One of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labor movement in particular, holding over 2,700 archival collections. Available collections are accessible through the online catalog and an online index of archives and inventories

The Kalliope Verbundkatalog serves as a union catalog for archival resources, providing access to the holdings of a large number of museums, archives, and libraries. With over 1.2 million entries and over 500 institutional members, including some of the largest German regional and university libraries, Kalliope is the primary resource for German archival materials

One of the largest cultural institutions in Germany, the foundation oversees 25 museums, exhibitions, palaces, and historical houses, including the Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek, with holdings of about one million volumes; the Goethe and Schiller Archive, the oldest literature archive in Germany; and the parks in and around Weimar. A growing number of academic papers and digitized collections are being made available

Produced by the German Historical Museum in Berlin, the LeMO Archiv provides free access to a large number of online primary resources, both textual and audio-visual, documenting German history from the mid-19th-century to the present

Describes manuscripts held in the German-speaking areas of Europe and manuscripts of German origin held in select libraries in Europe and North America. Provides access to an expanding collection of digitized manuscripts

Provides free access to a large number of digital copies of political, economic, and cultural documents from the Middle Ages, held in Central European archives

The National Archives of Austria are the repository for the public records of the modern state of Austria and of the Habsburg monarchy (1526-1918). Its vast collections date back to the year 816 and include a library of 800.000 volumes

Contains archival collections from the four linguistic regions of Switzerland (French, German, Italian and Romansh), with special emphasis on the 20th and 21st centuries

Based upon an updated and revised version of Wolfgang Mommsen’s Die Nachlässe in den deutschen Archiven, this database provides short descriptions of collections of personal papers held in German archives

Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South) -- Non-Circulating
and
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call number: CD1220 A78 2001

Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number:DD17 H67 1991
Non-Circulating