German Language Humanities : Web Sites and Primary Sources

A database of recent contributions to the field of literary theory, with both an English and German version. At present, most annotated entries are from German or English speaking regions, focusing on the period 1970 to the present day. Users may search for titles within a particular theoretical field, or search for key words or authors. A glossary explains theoretical terms of central importance. User contributions to the database are invited

A German-language site offering digitizations of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century literary and cultural works from or about Austria. Also included are some German-language dictionaries of Austrian provenance from the same period, as well as a special section on the Austrian women's movement of the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century (listed under "Collections" as: "Frauen in Bewegnung (Ariadne/OeNB")

Service provided by the Fachinformationsdienst Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft (Comparative Literature Studies) at the University of Frankfurt. Contains modules for “Finding Literature” (with more than 200,000 references to books, articles, and e-books in Literature Studies), “Publishing” (open access publication services CompaRe and E-Journal Hosting) , and “Networking” (announcements, dissemination, index of researchers, and directory of research institutions with a focus on comparative literature)

Online database of German literature, with notes and some full text: Althochdeutsche Literatur (8. - 10. Jahrhunderts), Mittelhochdeutsche Literatur (11. - 14. Jahrhunderts), Frühneuhochdeutsche Literatur (15. - 16. Jahrhunderts), and Neuhochdeutsche Literatur (17. - 20. Jahrhunderts)

1000 years of Black history in German-speaking lands, and why it matters

An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries., supporting advanced research in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars the primary source material critical to those disciplines. Some examples of strong collections at the CRL related to German Studies: German Baroque literature, 1500-1700; German drama, 16th-early 20th centuries; Nazi Party Archives; Bibliothek der Frauenfrage in Deutschland nach Sveistrup; Satirische Zeitschriften Sexualerleben und Körperkultur (1880-1932). Some items are digital; most paper and microform materials can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan

Dedicated to research on German-language comics across disciplines

Provides bio-bibliographical and historical information on authors and institutions between the years 1900-1960, including critical commentary and information on the location in archives and libraries of the primary materials

Search through 40 years of East German history as printed in the pages of Neues DeutschlandNeue Zeit, and Berliner Zeitung.
Registration required

Collection of poems by noted German poets, arranged by author and theme. Some with audio recitations

Seeks to collect all Latin and German inscriptions of the Middle Ages and the early modern period up to the year 1650. The collection area covers Germany, Austria and South Tyrol

Provides multidisciplinary texts from the period around 1650 to 1900. Once completed, the project will provide researchers with a linguistically annotated, fully searchable textual corpus of core German texts, across all subject areas

Wide-ranging and informative site put out by the Goethe Institut provides biographical portraits of important German-language comic artists and discusses styles, genres, and formats. Includes publications lists and book and website tips

Index of modern German poetry, with links to archives of personal papers and prose written by German poets from the 18th and early 19th centuries.

Provides full text access to thousands of monographs published after WWII, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The project is funded by the German Research Foundation and the publishers Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, Wilhelm Fink / Ferdinand Schöningh, and Otto Sagner

A growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era, provided by the Leo Baeck Institute. Includes archival materials, memoirs and manuscripts, art and objects, books and periodicals, photographs, and audio recordings

Library of public domain works. All texts in German

Forum for ongoing scholarly inquiry regarding how structural oppressions continue to inform German Studies and seeking to promote advocacy and access within the field

The project's goal is to provide access to all medieval and selected early modern manuscripts held in Switzerland via a virtual library. Contains hundreds of manuscripts from dozens of different libraries and is continuously updated and expanded

Provides online full-text access to a deep digital archive of rare books on all aspects of life and culture in the early modern period, with content from the leading national libraries of Europe. Printed sources to 1700

Provides detailed documentation of the publication history of the complete works of Austrian poet Ernst Jandl; an extensive bibliography of secondary literature, comments, and reviews; and scans of materials from the poet’s estate. See also the publisher's website devoted to Jandl, which includes audio recordings of a few readings: http://www.ernstjandl.com/bio_lesungen.html

Collection of resources from the European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries

The digitized library of Victor Amadeus, Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (1779-1834), housed at Castle Corvey near Paderborn, Germany. Works in English, French, and German. A good source of Romantic literature

Historical-critical edition of Goethe’s Faust. Presents some 550 manuscripts totaling more than 2,000 pages in high-resolution color images with detailed transcriptions. Traces connections between manuscripts and imprints. Transcriptions of several printed editions are also made available.

One of the many projects of Ariadne at the Women's Study Documentation Center of the Austrian National Library

Describes and provides teaching ideas for all kinds of German graphic novels, from biographical to historical to crime and literary adaptations

GHDI includes primary source materials--accompanied by English translations--and a wide array of visual resources documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present

Here you can listen to a collection of more than 600 German poems selected and read by actor and stage director Fritz Stavenhagen

A project of the German Studies Association, this "virtual hub of resources for those interested in German language, art, culture, and history" offers access to pedagogical innovations, scholarly lectures, and research materials that can be adapted for online teaching, flipped and hybrid courses, or face-to-face instruction. Also features blog posts on various teaching, diversity, and research-related topics

Extensive research guide produced by the European Studies Section (ESS), Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).

Available from the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Bremen, Die Grenzboten was a significant weekly/bi-weekly journal concerned with literature, politics, and the arts; articles appearing in the decade around 1848 reveal the theoretical foundations of German Realism

Shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions, including UW-Madison. Only materials that are no longer under copyright (typically those published prior to 1923) may be viewed online or downloaded. Note: links to digital versions, when available, can be found in our catalog's records

Excellent collection links compiled by Brigham Young University

Major index to medieval studies (c. 400-1500). Includes citations to articles in approximately 4500 journals and "miscellany" volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften)

Produced by the German Historical Museum in Berlin, the LeMO Archiv provides free access to a large number of online primary resources, both textual and audio-visual, documenting German history from the mid-19th-century to the present

German-language bio-bibliography of German-speaking writers of mystery and detective fiction. Includes information on books, films, plays, and radio and television productions

Actor Peter Sodann has been collecting the books published in the German Democratic Republic. A catalog of his efforts can be found here

Features modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres, with content from print reference titles such as: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism

Provides online recordings of poets (primarily German) reading from their own works

Open access repository for media studies provices access to more than 2,500 texts, including the complete holdings of periodicals such as AugenBlick, Navigationen or Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft, on series such as Zürcher Filmstudien or Medien'Welten, and to the Open Access stocks of publishers such as transcript and meson press. All texts on media / rep / are searchable in full text, and are available for download. The stock of texts is constantly being expanded

German-language Internet portal for students of medieval German language and literature, providing annotated listings of important and useful sites in this discipline. New users might begin by clicking on the Sitemap, which offers links to subordinate pages in readily visible categories

Annual Bibliographies of additions to Washington University Libraries' distinctive collection of contemporary German-language literature, the largest of such collections in North America

Provides search functions for a large number of the most important works of Middle-high German literature, with linguistic and semantic search criteria

Collection of primary source material for the study of the European Middle Ages, including German history (broadly considered) from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500

An online study space for the works of Robert Musil, including the full text and commentary/apparatus for Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften.

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie über 10.000 Gedichte von mehr als 2.300 Dichtern

BYU University guide to all-encompassing topical, discipline-specific, pedagogical or geographical finding aids for Open Access materials relevant for German Studies

German-language collection of articles, bibliographies, reviews, project announcements, and other scholarly material dealing with medieval German language, literature, and culture. Although it calls itself a "Periodikum", it has neither numbered issues nor a regular schedule: instead, new material that has passed the scrutiny of its editorial board is simply posted when ready

Offers full-text access to hundreds of works of German literature

Sponsored by Women in German and funded by the Brigham Young University, SOPHIE provides access to primary texts by 18th and 19th century German-language women authors. The collection contains several sections, such as Biographies, Colonial literature, Drama, English translations, Film, Journalism, Music, Poetry, Reference works, and Travel literature

Index of digitized German-language song pamphlets and leaflets, supplementing the century-specific bibliographic collections VD 16, VD 17 and VD 18. VDLied contains some 30,000 songs from both popular and ephemeral imprints, and is expected to grow over time

Database of printed works published in the German-speaking world during the 16th century

Database of printed works published in the German-speaking World during the 17th century

Prototype database of printed works published in the German-speaking World during the 18th century

Digital proceedings of The Wisconsin Workshop, 1969-1991, which brought together scholars of German literature, arts, culture, and history to create a transatlantic bridge for scholarly exchange about “things German” and to highlight major trends in German Studies

Summaries of German literary periods and a selection of important authors and their works. Open for online discussion

Large collection of full text German-language works in literature, history, language, philosophy, sociology, cultural history, and more

The ZVDD registers and provides keyword and subject access to digital versions of print works in Germany from the 15th century to the present

Aims to create a digital critical edition of the literary works of Arthur Schnitzler from the period 1905 to 1931

This edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe um 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf and published by Suhrkamp

Digital version of the 15 volumes published between 1943 and 1985. See also the 20-volume print Frankfurter Ausgabe

This database consists primarily of the Weimar Edition of Goethe's works, originally published between 1887-1919 by Hermann Böhlau. It is supplemented by material not found in the Weimar Edition, namely Goethes Gespräche, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann (Leipzig, 1889-1896) and all the letters discovered since the completion of the Weimar Edition

Most works available online

Digital version of the critical edition of Kafka's collected works published by S.Fischer Verlag, Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher

Available through Past Masters

Gateway to research on Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, including the critical edition of his collected works by Lachmann-Muncker

Available through Past Masters

Full-text access to the works of Friedrich Schiller in the edition of the Nationalausgabe

Provides digital access to a large part of the extensive correspondence of translator, critic, and poet August Wilhelm Schlegel, a significant figure in the German Romantic period. Currently the site contains some 3,500 letters, with transcriptions and indexing continually being added.

Sponsored by Women in German and funded by the Brigham Young University, SOPHIE provides access to primary texts by 18th and 19th century German-language women authors. The collection contains several sections, such as Biographies, Colonial literature, Drama, English translations, Film, Journalism, Music, Poetry, Reference works, and Travel literature