Welcome! 欢迎! 歡迎!
This research guide will support you in discovering Chinese Studies resources at UW-Madison and beyond. The Chinese Studies Collection at UW-Madison contains over 210,000 physical volumes and other digital resources in the Chinese language. The collection also consists of large volumes and electronic resources in non-Chinese languages related to Chinese Studies.
The Memorial Library at UW-Madison started to collect Chinese materials in 1917. In that year, a Chinese student donated some books and journal titles to our libraries. In 1965, the Memorial Library hired the first Chinese Studies librarian.
With the development in over one century, the Chinese Studies Collection has emphasized Chinese history, literature, art, linguistics, and frontiers. The collection also developed the Women's Studies, economics, and foreign relations associated with Chinese Studies. The primary Chinese Studies books and periodicals are located on the 4th floor, Memorial Library. The Chinese rare books are located at the Special Collections. Other significant collections of Chinese materials are accessible at the College Library, Law Library, Mills Music Library, Steenbock Library, Kohler Art Library, as well as the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
- new AiritiLibrary (華藝線上圖書館) (NetID required)
The AiritiLibrary contains a wide range of Chinese periodicals, conference proceedings, and eBooks from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and elsewhere. It covers broad subject areas, including humanities, science, social sciences, technology, medicine, and life sciences.
Trial period: 5/25/2022-8/31/2022
- new Taiwan Government Research Archives (臺灣政府研究檔案庫) (@wisc.edu required)
This is a professional database that records Taiwan's transition from martial law to democracy. It studies Taiwan's political system, laws and regulations, economic development, and social operations. Please contact the librarian to access the trial.
Trial period: 5/11/2022-7/31/2022
- new SupChina (@wisc.edu required)
It is a China-focused news, information, and business services platform. It informs and connects a global audience regarding China's business, technology, politics, culture, and society. We are available to use ACCESS (news) and EDGE (business). Please register it from here with the @wisc.edu email address.
Trial period: 5/6/2022-7/25/2022
- China Data Insights 1949- (中国经济社会大数据平台) (NetID required)
The database is also known as China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD). Statistical data in CSYD can quantitatively reflect the trend of national economic and social development in China, including the following industries: national economic accounting, fixed assets investment, population, and human resource, livelihood and consumption, enterprises, finance, natural resources, energy and natural environment, politics & law, public administration, farmers & agriculture & rural area, industry, construction and housing, transportation, post and telecommunications, information industry, domestic and international trade, tourism & catering, education, culture and sport, medicine and health care.
- China Social Science Excellence (中国人民大学复印报刊资料) (NetID required)
It covers the essence of nearly 4,000 kinds of humanities and social science academic achievements published in newspapers and journals in China since 1995. The full-text journals include the subjects of political and social sciences, law, philosophy, economics and management, literature and arts, education, history, cultural information, media, and others.
- Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books (雕龍 : 中日古籍全文資料庫) (NetID required)
This database includes over 30 thousand titles of ancient Chinese and some Japanese books. It covers full texts of ancient Chinese and Japanese books. The database provides the Dao zang 道藏, Dao zang ji yao 道藏辑要, Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊, Yongle da dian 永樂大典, Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成, Si ku quan shu 四庫全書, and various local gazetteers. Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Monthly New Books
- China's European headquarters : Switzerland and China during the Cold War (eBook) by Knüsel, Ariane
- Modern erasures : revolution, the civilizing mission, and the shaping of China's past (eBook) by Fuller, Pierre
- City on the edge : Hong Kong under Chinese rule (eBook) by Hung, Ho-fung
- China's grandmothers : gender, family, and aging from late Qing to twenty-first century (eBook) by Lary, Diana
- Teaching expertise in three countries : Japan, China, and the United States (eBook) by Hayashi, Akiko
- Main Melody Films : Hong Kong Directors in Mainland China (eBook) by Zhu, Yaowei
- New Selection Books - please submit a request if unavailable temporarily
Need something? - Request a purchase
Events & Exhibits
- Maritime Borders, State Power, and Territorialities over the Ocean: A Perspective from Taiwan
Dr. Po-Yi Hung, National Taiwan University
Friday, May 6, 2022, at 3:30 PM CDT
@180 Science Hall