Chinese Studies : Data and Maps

Statistics

• new CSMAR: China Stock Market and Accounting Research Database (NetID required)
  This research-oriented database focuses on China's Finance and Economy and contains macroeconomic and industry statistics. UW-Madison users have access to China Industry Research Series (行业研究系列) and subdatabases in the China Economic Research Series (经济研究系列), covering Macroeconomic, Regional Economy, Industrial Statistics, County-Level Economic, Rural Finance and Economics, Education, Marine Resource Economics, Patent, and Culture Research.
   
• China Statistical Yearbooks Database (中国经济社会大数据平台) (NetID required)
  The database is also known as CSYD. Statistical data in CSYD can quantitatively reflect the trend of national economic and social development in China, including the following industries: national economic accounting, fixed assets investment, population, and human resource, livelihood and consumption, enterprises, finance, natural resources, energy and natural environment, politics & law, public administration, farmers & agriculture & rural area, industry, construction and housing, transportation, post and telecommunications, information industry, domestic and international trade, tourism & catering, education, culture and sport, medicine and health care.
   
• Chinese General Social Survey (中国综合社会调查 CGSS)
  It launched in 2003 and was the earliest national representative continuous survey project run by academic institutions. By 2013, the CGSS has built up the Religion; Social Inequality; Environment; Health; Family, work, and Gender Roles modules by the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP).
   
• Contemporary Chinese Village Gazetteer Data (数字村庄)
  The University of Pittsburgh proposed the project with the goal of creating an open dataset consisting of data selected from the ULS collection of Chinese village gazetteers. The current dataset covers 1,200 villages and was uploaded in May 2021. 
   
• National Bureau of Statistics of China 中华人民共和国国家统计局
  The government statistics website provides the latest release of data. 
   
• National Data (国家数据)
  The platform provides the official statistical data. The National Data is open access and provided by the national bureau of statistics.  
   
• National Population Census of China Database (中国人口普查数据库) (NetID required)
  The NPCC (National Population Census of China Database) contains authorized aggregated digital census data from China Statistics Press, the official publisher of the National Bureau of Statistics of the People’s Republic of China. UW-Madison currently provides access to data from the 7th National Population Census of China from 2020 and the 6th National Population Census of China from 2010. 
   
• YearBook China (统计年鉴分享平台)
  The shared platform with city-level statistical data. Need register to get access.

-----

• The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region: Census and Statistics Department (香港特别行政區政府: 政府統計處)
  The official statistical set provides data related to the populations, unemployment rate, GDP, composite consumer price index, etc.

-----

• National Statistics, R.O.C. (Taiwan) 中華民國統計資訊網
  Taiwan's 行政院主計處 provides governmental statistics and index. 
   
• National Development Council: Statistics (國家發展委員會)
  Taiwan's National Development Council provides urban and regional development statistics. 
   
• 臺灣日治時期統計資料庫
  The colonial government collected the data from 1895 to 1945. This dataset provides these statistical surveys to the public.

-----

• DataBank
  The World Bank provides the global development data. It covers multiple sub-datasets, including the World Development Indicators (WDI).
   
• Enterprise Surveys
  The World Bank covers a firm-level survey of a representative sample of an economy’s private sector. The surveys consist of a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, and performance measures.

Maps

• Bodies and Structures 2.0: Deep-Mapping East Asian History
  It is a collection of Scalar modules and visualizations focused on spatial histories across China, Japan, and Korea.
   
• China Biographical Database (中國歷代人物傳記資料庫 CBDB)
  Havard University provides an open-access database with biographical information about approximately 491,000 individuals as of May 2021, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. 
   
• China Historical Christian Database (中国基督教历史资料库 CHCD)
  The open beta site quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China (1550-1950). It provides users the tools to discover where every Christian church, school, hospital, orphanage, publishing house, and the like were located in China, and it documents who worked inside those buildings, both foreign and Chinese. Please select the "BETA" tag on the main page to access this database.
   
• China Historical GIS (CHGIS)
  Harvard University has built up this open-access site with placenames and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties.
   
• National Platform for Common Geospatial Information Services: MapWorld (国家地理信息公共服务平台: 天地图)
  The national platform collects various local geospatial information. Need register to get access.
   
• Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center: China Dimensions (SEDAC)
  The China Dimensions data collection covers various socioeconomic data, including Geographic Information System (GIS) databases that cover the administrative regions of China, presented at a scale of 1:1,000,000. It is integrated with administrative geography, hospitals and epidemiology, agriculture, and population, etc.
   
• Virtual Shanghai
  Virtual Shanghai is a comprehensive research and resource platform focused on the history of Shanghai from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. It includes a diverse collection of materials such as essays, original documents, photographs, maps, and quantitative data.