Chinese Studies : Document Archives

Document Archives

• Adam Matthew (AM) Primary Sources (NetID required)
  The UW–Madison Libraries provide access to all primary source collections in the social sciences and humanities from Adam Matthew Digital. This AM LibGuide offers a comprehensive overview of available resources for East Asian studies. Key digital collections relevant to Chinese Studies include:
  
  Area Studies: China and Southeast Asia
  China, America and the Pacific
  China: Culture and Society
  China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
  Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
  Medical Journals, Asian Missions and The Historical Record, 1816-1986
  Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East, 1596-1870
  Empire Online
  Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
  Global Commodities
  Medieval Travel Writing
  Socialism on Film
  Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
  World's Fairs
   
• BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 (NetID required)
  This collection consists of summary intelligence briefing reports prepared for Britain and its allies, starting just before WWII. The reports are based on broadcast data gathered from open, publicly available sources from 1939 to 2001.
   
• Chatham House Online Archive (NetID required)
  It contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), including audio recordings and transcripts of debates and speeches it has hosted.
   
• China and the Modern World (GALE), 1800s-1990s (NetID required)
  Primary source archive related to history of China (early 1800s to 1990s), with manuscripts, periodicals, letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other historical documents. Topics covered include diplomacy, trade, politics, Christianity, sinology, education, science and technology, imperialism, and globalization. This collection is part of Gale Primary Sources.
   
• China Social Science Excellence (中国人民大学复印报刊资料) (NetID required)
  It covers the essence of nearly 4,000 kinds of humanities and social science academic achievements published in newspapers and journals in China since 1995. The full-text journals include the subjects of political and social sciences, law, philosophy, economics and management, literature and arts, education, history, cultural information, media, and others. 
   
• China Unofficial Archives (中国民间档案馆) 
  This open access platform is committed to providing access to essential documents, films, blogs, and publications from a movement where Chinese individuals strive to rediscover and reclaim their nation's historical narrative.
   
• Claude L. Pickens, Jr. Collection of Photographs: Muslims in China
  This collection from Harvard-Yenching Library comprises over 1,000 photographs capturing Muslims and Christian missionaries in Western China during the 1920s and 1930s.
   
• new Databases on the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements (中國當代政治運動史數據庫) (NetID required)

  This digital resource contains primary sources on major political movements in modern Chinese history, including the Cultural Revolution, the Anti-Rightist Campaign, the Great Leap Forward, and the political campaigns of the 1950s. It includes 4 databases: 1) Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (中国文化大革命文库), 2) Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign Database (1957–) (中国反右运动数据库 1957–), 3) Chinese Great Leap Forward–Great Famine Database (1958–1962) (中国大跃进–大饥荒数据库 1958–1962), and 4) Early–Mid 1950s Chinese Political Movements Database: From Land Reform to State-Private Partnership (1949–1956) (中国五十年代初中期的政治运动数据库：从土地改革到公私合营 1949–1956).

• Earl George Macartney Collection, 1792-1794 (NetID required)
  It is a digital archive of letters, books, sketches, and journals relating to the important Macartney mission from George III to the Chinese Emperor Qianlong in 1792–1794.
   
• Economic Cooperation Administration’s Relief Mission in Post-War China, 1946-1948 (NetID required)
  It is a digitized archive of files from the Economic Cooperation Administration (ECA) documents that work toward economic and cultural opportunities with China in the period after WWII.
   
• Evangelism in China: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1837-1911 (NetID required)
  It is an Archive of correspondence of the Presbyterian Church’s Board of Foreign Missions relating to their China Mission during the period of 1837 to 1911.
   
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996 (NetID required)
  The electronic version of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports is available through the Readex FBIS database. This database provides digitized copies of the original paper editions of the FBIS Daily Reports. The coverage includes F) China, 1974-1996.
   
• General George C. Marshall's Mission to China, 1945-1947 (NetID required)
  It is an archive of documents from General George C. Marshall's post-WWII mission to prevent the renewal of the Chinese civil war and to prevent the growth of Soviet influence in both Manchuria and China.
   
• German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 (NetID required)
  It is a primary source collection that provides documentation on Germany’s relations with China during the interwar period, including over 18,000 images from U.S. National Archives files. 
   
• 国家法律法规数据库
  This open access database serves as the official platform for national and regional laws and regulations, as well as judicial explanations.
   
• 國史館檔案史料文物查詢系統 
  The Academia Historica provides open access to government materials. Need to register with your passport information to get access.
   
• History of the Communist Party of China Database (中共党史经典文献数据库) (NetID required)
  It provides the documents related to the Party’s central leadership and biographical information, including the Party and government policy decisions and records of major events. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
   
• 抗日战争与近代中日关系文献数据平台
  It collects the primary source on China-Japan relations, including books, newspapers, archives, audio, video, etc. 
   
• National Peoples Congresses (全国人民代表大会资料库 NPC) (NetID required)
  The NPC Database is a collection of reports from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to the latest session of the NPC. This collection includes Deputy Lists, Agendas, Conference Updates, Documents and Reports, Resolutions and Statements, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals, Suggestions of the Deputies, News Reports, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Video Reports, etc. 
   
• Open Books Hong Kong

  The platform is jointly initiated by the libraries and publishers of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, City University of Hong Kong, and The University of Hong Kong. It is the first open access book program in Hong Kong. The program will gradually release academic works published by the three university presses, making them freely available for public reading, downloading, use, and dissemination.
   

• The National History Database of P.R.C (中华人民共和国国史数据库) (NetID required)
  Consists of the People’s Republic of China History Chronicles 1949-1959, the Contemporary China series, and Contemporary China’s City Development series, etc.
   
• TheoryChina (理论中国)
  TheoryChina is a theory website established by the Central Compilation & Translation Bureau. The website offers 1) important policy documents of China’s supreme leading bodies, 2)  works of important Chinese leaders, 3) results of China’s philosophical and social studies, and 4)  introductory materials about China’s basic conditions and policies.
   
• Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 (NetID required)
  It is a primary source document relating to the demonstrations in China from mid-April through June 1989, with a particular focus on Tiananmen Square.
   
• Tokyo Trials Literature ("东京审判"文献数据库) (NetID required)
  It is the Full-text documents of the Tokyo Trials of Japanese war criminals in World War II. Includes transcripts of proceedings and court exhibits, along with historical photos, audio, and video.
   
• Virtual Museum of the "Cultural Revolution" ("文革"博物馆)
  The platform has collected more than 1 million words' worth of materials about the Cultural Revolution from scholars of the Cultural Revolution, readers' contributions, and articles.  
   
• Wilson Center Digital Archive: Chinese Foreign Policy Database 
  The Chinese Foreign Policy Database enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture. The Database is generously supported by the MacArthur Foundation and the Henry Luce Foundation.