Chinese Studies : Images

Historical Images

• China's Cultural Revolution in Memories: The CR/10 Project
  The University of Pittsburgh provides video interviews with people who experienced China’s Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution (1966-1976), as well as with young Chinese people born after the Cultural Revolution, who discuss how they learned of this historical incident. 
   
• Chinese Christian Posters (基督徒海報)
  The Center for Global Christianity & Mission curated over 600 posters used in China for Christian proselytization from the early 20th century.
   
• Chinese Commerical Advertisement Archive 1870-1940 (中国商业广告档案库 CCAA)
  It is an image-oriented and research-directed online archive that opens to all scholarly communities. The archive consists of high-quality digital images of advertisements for international brands published in leading Chinese newspapers from the late 19th century to the middle of the 20th century in China, along with research metadata for each image. 
   
• Chinese Film Classics
  The Chinese Film Classics focuses on films made between the 1890s and the 1940s. It provides English-subtitled versions of over twenty early Chinese films. It also contains resources for learning more about Chinese cinema history, including further viewings, readings, filmographies, bibliographies, and archival materials.
   
• Chinese Pamphlets 1947-1954 (連環畫) (NetID required)
  The Center of Research Libraries provides the Digitized collection of mass education materials from Hong Kong and mainland China, especially Shanghai from 1947 to 1954. 
   
• Chinese Propaganda Posters
  It covers over 2,750 Chinese propaganda posters are shown on this website, with information about their history, background, and design. 
   
• Harvard-Yenching Library Digital Collections
  The catalog Includes multiple open-access digitalized maps, photographs, posters from the Harvard-Yenching Library.
   
• Sidney D. Gamble Photographs Collection 1908-1932
  Duke University collected the photographs taken by the sociologist and China scholar Sidney D. Gamble (1890-1968). Subjects include urban and rural life, public events, architecture, religious statuary, and the countryside. 
   
• UWDC East Asian Collection
  includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China. The completed project will be a valuable resource for research into this region and its history.