Welcome! 欢迎! 歡迎!
This research guide will support you in discovering Chinese Studies resources at UW-Madison and beyond. The Chinese Studies Collection at UW-Madison contains over 210,000 physical volumes and other digital resources in the Chinese language. The collection also consists of large volumes and electronic resources in non-Chinese languages related to Chinese Studies.
The Memorial Library at UW-Madison started to collect Chinese materials in 1917. In that year, a Chinese student donated some books and journal titles to our libraries. In 1965, the Memorial Library hired the first Chinese Studies librarian.
With the development in over one century, the Chinese Studies Collection has emphasized Chinese history, literature, art, linguistics, and frontiers. The collection also developed the Women's Studies, economics, and foreign relations associated with Chinese Studies. The primary Chinese Studies books and periodicals are located on the 4th floor, Memorial Library. The Chinese rare books are located at the Special Collections. Other significant collections of Chinese materials are accessible at the College Library, Law Library, Mills Music Library, Steenbock Library, Kohler Art Library, as well as the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
- new CSMAR: China Stock Market and Accounting Research Database (NetID required)
This research-oriented database focuses on China's Finance and Economy and contains macroeconomic and industry statistics. UW-Madison users have access to China Industry Research Series (行业研究系列) and subdatabases in the China Economic Research Series (经济研究系列), covering Macroeconomic, Regional Economy, Industrial Statistics, County-Level Economic, Rural Finance and Economics, Education, Marine Resource Economics, Patent, and Culture Research.
- new The North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists 1850-1951 (字林洋行中英文报纸全文数据库) (NetID required)
The database has comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald (北华捷报), The North-China Daily News (字林西报), The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser (上海新报), Hu Bao (沪报), Han Bao (汉报), Xiao Xian Bao (消闲报), and The North-China Desk Hong List (字林西报行名录)
- China Data Insights 1949- (中国经济社会大数据平台) (NetID required)
The database is also known as China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD). Statistical data in CSYD can quantitatively reflect the trend of national economic and social development in China, including the following industries: national economic accounting, fixed assets investment, population, and human resource, livelihood and consumption, enterprises, finance, natural resources, energy and natural environment, politics & law, public administration, farmers & agriculture & rural area, industry, construction and housing, transportation, post and telecommunications, information industry, domestic and international trade, tourism & catering, education, culture and sport, medicine and health care.
- new Dunhuang Documents Database (敦煌遺書数据库)
The open-access database provides the digitalized Dunhuang documents. The search page has the default username and password.
Monthly New Books
- Self-cultivation in early China (eBook) by Fischer, Paul
- Sinostan : China's inadvertent empire (eBook) by Pantucci, Raffaello
- The Hong Kong-China nexus : a brief history (eBook) by Carroll, John M.
- Micro-institutional foundations of capitalism : sectoral pathways to globalization in China, India, and Russia (eBook) by Hsueh, Roselyn
- Power and restraint in China's rise (eBook) by Huang, Chin-Hao
- Empires of ideas : creating the modern university from Germany to America to China (eBook) by Kirby, William C.
- New Selection Books - please submit a request if unavailable temporarily
Need something? - Request a purchase
Events & Exhibits
- Echoing Overseas: Asian Artistic Exchange
August 8-November 28, 2022
@The Chazen Museum of Art
- The Web of Meaning: The Internet in a changing Chinese society
Prof. Elaine Yuan
September 22nd, 4:00pm
@Room 2120 Grainger Hall
- The World is a Mine: The Fushun Colliery and the Patterns of Our Planetary Predicaments
Prof. Victor Seow
Sept. 23, 12-1:30pm
@Curti Lounge, 5223 Mosse Humanities Building
- Adding Spice: How the Chile Pepper Flavored Chinese Culture
Prof. Brian Dott
Oct. 11th at 4-5:30 pm
@Ingraham Room 206