International/Global Affairs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Refugees
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Autonomous/Secession Movements
- Chemical and Biological Weapons
- European Union
- Food Shortages/Food Supply
- Human Trafficking
- Immigration - United States
- Nuclear Proliferation
- Palestine and Israel
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Migration Policy Institute"The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels."
- American Immigration Lawyers Association"The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members."
- U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI)The U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants is a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting "the rights and address the needs of persons in forced or voluntary migration worldwide and support their transition to a dignified life."
This guide focuses on refugees and displaced persons. It covers causes of displacement, challenges refugees and displaced persons face, information on the legal status of refugees and displaced persons, and relief and resettlement efforts. The guide also includes government policy on refugees and asylum seekers.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: refugees, "displaced persons", "internally displaced persons", "asylum seekers", "forced migration", "women refugees", "refugee children", genocide, "human rights", "human trafficking", resettlement
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- The UN Refugee Agency"UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, is a global organisation dedicated to saving lives, protecting rights and building a better future for refugees, forcibly displaced communities and stateless people." Find data and analysis on major displacement crises worldwide. UNHCR provides figures at a glance, data sets, annual reports, research and evaluation.
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (Department of Homeland Security)Formerly the INS, the CIS is responsible for visa, naturalization, asylum and refugee services. This site contains documents and forms, laws and regulations and news.
- What Is a Refugee? by William MaleyISBN: 9780190652388Publication Date: 2016-12-01
- Faces of Oppression and the Price of Justice: A Woman's Journey from Eritrea to Saudi-Arabia and the United States by Dawit Okubatsion Woldu; Irvin H. BromallISBN: 9781569025031Publication Date: 2016-11-01
- Migrant, Refugee, Smuggler, Savior by Peter Tinti; Tuesday ReitanoISBN: 9780190668594Publication Date: 2017-04-04
- Upheaval: The Refugee Trek through Europe by Navid Kermani; Tony Crawford (Translator); Moises Saman (Filmed by)ISBN: 9781509518678Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PAIS InternationalPublic Affairs Information Service covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- Columbia International Affairs OnlineA comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. (Hein Online)A compilation of historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsContains over 1,200 international publications in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
- Office of Immigration Statistics"The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) develops, analyzes, and disseminates statistical information needed to inform policy and assess the effects of immigration in the United States. Our goal is to provide high-quality statistical information that is relevant, timely, cost-effective, and customer-oriented."
- UNHCR's Statistics Database"UNHCR’s Statistics Database provides data, reports and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on people of concern – refugees, asylum seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available."