International/Global Affairs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Space Exploration
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
- Our World in Data: Space Exploration and SatellitesOur World in Data’s mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems," including data and visualizations on space exploration, satellites, space pollution, and astronomical research.
About Space Exploration
This guide focuses on space exploration, or investigation beyond Earth's atmosphere using astronomy and space technology such as spacecraft.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: "space exploration", spaceflight OR "space flight", spacecraft, "space industrialization", "private space exploration", "space tourism", "space pollution", space coloni* OR "space colonization", interplanetary, "space missions" AND cost, "space vehicles", planetary exploration AND "developing countries", "space research" AND technology, "space exploration" AND diversity, astronautics, astrobiotics, "Artemis Accords", "U.S. Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness Act", "space commercialization" AND "Virgin Galactic"
Overview Resources
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- NASA: "Why Go to Space?"The United States' National Aeronautics and Space Administration provides information about and justification for space exploration.
- Space.com: "Space Exploration"Space.com is a source for space exploration, innovation, and astronomy news, chronicling humanity's ongoing expansion into space.
Books
Space Forces: A Critical History of Life in Outer Space by ISBN: 9781786637352Publication Date: 2021
Off-Earth: Ethical Questions and Quandaries for Living in Outer Space by ISBN: 9780262047548Publication Date: 2023
UFO: The Inside Story of the US Government's Search for Alien Life Here--and Out There by ISBN: 9781982196776Publication Date: 2023
For the Love of Mars: A Human History of the Red Planet by ISBN: 9780226821894Publication Date: 2023
A City on Mars: Can We Settle Space, Should We Settle Space, and Have We Really Thought This Through? by ISBN: 9781984881724Publication Date: 2023
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Applied Science & Technology Full TextIncludes scientific and technical publications in a wide variety of STEM disciplines including artificial intelligence, applied math, plastics, robotics, etc.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science DatabaseFocused research tool for cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research, including topics relevant to space exploration.
- America: History and Life – North America Historical Abstracts – WorldCovers topics related to United States and Canadian history, including the history of North American space exploration.
- Historical Abstracts – WorldCovers topics related to world history, including the history of space exploration.
Organizations
- United Nations Office for Outer Space AffairsThe United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) works to promote international cooperation in the peaceful use and exploration of space, and in the utilization of space science and technology for sustainable economic and social development.
- NASA Office of Diversity and Equal OpportunityThe National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the United States' civil space program. Its Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity leads diversity and civil rights policies, programs, and services to begin to address NASA's historical lack of diversity.
- European Space Agency: Parastronaut Feasibility ProjectA project to assess the conditions for including astronauts with disabilities to work in space in order to offer professional spaceflight opportunities to a wider pool of talents.
- AstroAccessA project dedicated to promoting disability inclusion in human space exploration by paving the way for disabled astronauts, founded in 2021.
- The Planetary SocietyAn organization co-founded by Carl Sagan in 1980 and later led by Bill Nye that is working to give anyone from anywhere in the world an active role in advancing space exploration.
- National Space SocietyA non-profit organization with chapters worldwide, dedicated to the creation of a spacefaring civilization, billed as a "citizen’s voice on space," and publisher of Ad Astra magazine.