International/Global Affairs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Immigration - United States
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- American Immigration Lawyers Association"The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members."
- Migration Policy Institute"The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels."
- Immigration EqualityImmigration Equality is a national organization fighting for equality under U.S. immigration law for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and HIV-positive individuals." They host a frequently asked questions section, current news, issues, legislation, publications, and a quarterly newsletter on their web site.
- National Immigration Forum"The Forum advocates and builds support for public policies that welcome immigrants and refugees and are fair and supportive to newcomers in the United States." Find current news, legislation and updates on the Department of Homeland Security. The Community Resource Bank has resources by topic and by community, including statistics, legal issues and a directory of local organizations.
About Immigration - United States
This research guide focuses on immigration to the United States, both legal and illegal. It includes historical information as well as current controversies. It also includes government policy on immigration.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: immigra* AND "refugee policy," immigration AND workforce, immigra* AND "United States" AND law*, immigra* AND naturalization AND detention, immigra* AND "United States" AND econom*, immigra* AND United States AND "refugee policy," immigra* AND naturalization AND Mexic* AND border, immigra* AND illegal
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Ellis Island FoundationFrom the time Ellis Island opened near the Statue of Liberty in 1892 to the time it closed in 1954, it served as the portal for the vast majority of new immigrants to the U.S. Click on "Ellis Island" in the menu to find history, stories and photographs.
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (Department of Homeland Security)Formerly the INS, the CIS is responsible for visa, naturalization, asylum and refugee services. This site contains documents and forms, laws and regulations and news.
- Council on Foreign Relations: The U.S. Immigration DebateThe Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan think tank with the goal of helping citizens to "better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."
Books
The Battle to Stay in America: Immigration's Hidden Front Line by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1948908506Publication Date: 2020-08-11
There Goes the Neighborhood: How Communities Overcome Prejudice and Meet the Challenge of American Immigration by Call Number: JV6475 .N66 2017ISBN: 9781633883079Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Becoming Legal: Immigration Law and Mixed-Status Families by Call Number: JV6475 .G65 2017ISBN: 9780190276010Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Faces of Oppression and the Price of Justice: A Woman's Journey from Eritrea to Saudi-Arabia and the United States by Call Number: JV8996.5 .W65 2017ISBN: 9781569025048Publication Date: 2016-11-01
The Other One Percent: Indians in America by Call Number: E184.E2 C426 2017ISBN: 9780190648749Publication Date: 2016-11-25
The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail by Call Number: JV6475 .D4 2015ISBN: 9780520282759Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Columbia International Affairs OnlineA comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. (Hein Online)A compilation of historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.
- PAIS InternationalPublic Affairs Information Service covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of more than 1200 international serials in political science and related fields; including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Statistics
- Office of Immigration Statistics"The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) develops, analyzes, and disseminates statistical information needed to inform policy and assess the effects of immigration in the United States. Our goal is to provide high-quality statistical information that is relevant, timely, cost-effective, and customer-oriented."