International/Global Affairs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Globalization
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Autonomous/Secession Movements
- Chemical and Biological Weapons
- European Union
- Food Shortages/Food Supply
- Human Trafficking
- Immigration - United States
- Nuclear Proliferation
- Palestine and Israel
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- CorpWatchThis organization's mission is to counter "corporate-led globalization through education and activism." It monitors corporate activity throughout the world.
- Foreign Policy in FocusA think tank devoted to making the United States a more responsible world power. The site contains many articles and resources on globalization.
- Global ExchangeA human rights organization striving for political, economic and social justice. The site includes resources on fair trade and globalization.
- Common FrontiersA nonprofit organization seeking alternatives to the social, economic, and environmental effects of economic integration in the Americas. The organization is dedicated to research, analysis, and action on these issues.
- International Chamber of CommerceDedicated to promoting international trade and investment.
- World BankA major source of economic assistance to developing countries.
- World Economic ForumThis independent international organization "provides a collaborative framework for the world's leaders to address global issues, engaging particularly its corporate members in global citizenship."
- World Trade OrganizationAn international organization that deals with the rules of trade between nations.
This guide focuses on globalization, the controversial process by which the world is becoming more economically, politically, and socially integrated. The guide should provide researchers with a starting point for investigating such topics as free trade vs. fair trade, globalization and human rights (for example, child labor), economic liberalization, the globalization of politics, globalization and poverty, the globalization of communications and media, and the effects of globalization on the environment.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: globalization, globalization AND "free trade", globalization AND "human rights", globalization AND media, globalization AND women, globalization AND poverty, globalization AND (environment* OR ecology), NAFTA , fair trade, "economic integration," "World Trade Organization" AND protest*
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Globalization101.orgA project of the Carnegie Endowment, Globalization101.org is "dedicated to providing students with information and interdisciplinary learning opportunities on this complex phenomenon." Includes issue briefs, news analyses, and useful links.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- YaleGlobal Online MagazineA publication of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization. Articles are written by a variety of scholarly, public, and private-sector sources. Topics include: economy, environment, gender, globalization, health, labor, politics, science and technology, security and terrorism, society and culture, and trade.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- What Is a Refugee? by William MaleyISBN: 0190652381Publication Date: 2016-12-01
- From Silk to Silicon: The Story of Globalization through Ten Extraordinary Lives by Jeffrey GartenISBN: 9781445655895Publication Date: 2016-05-31
- International Political Economy by D. Stanley Eitzen; Thomas OatleyISBN: 0205060633Publication Date: 2013-11-01
- The Future: Six Drivers of Global Change by Al GoreISBN: 9780812992946Publication Date: 2013-01-29
- Globalization: a Very Short Introduction by Manfred StegerISBN: 0199662665Publication Date: 2013-05-19
- America and the World: Culture, Commerce, and Conflict by Lawrence A. Peskin; Edmund F. WehrleISBN: 1421402963Publication Date: 2011-11-17
- Globalization, Institutions and Governance by James A. Caporaso; Mary Anne MadeiraISBN: 1412934931Publication Date: 2011-11-09
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycINFOIncludes articles on psychology topics.
- SocINDEXIncludes full text articles from over 500 sociology/social science journals.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.