International/Global Affairs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : European Union
Organizations
- European Union Center of Excellence"The UW-Madison first won a grant from the European Commission to establish a European Union Center in 1998. In 2005 the center was among 10 in the U.S. that were awarded new grants as European Union Centers of Excellence for the period 2005-2008. In 2008 the European Commission renewed the Center's funding through 2011 with a grant of 300,000 Euro."
About European Union
This guide contains resources on the European Union, also referred to as the European Economic Community. The European Union is a group of European nations which have developed a Common Market system aimed at breaking down trade and political barriers between member countries. You might find it useful to narrow your focus by dealing with the European Union in relation to a specific country or type of product.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: european union and migration, europe and refugee*, brexit and european union, european union and economic polic* and employment, euro and britain, brexit, euro and china and trade, european union and commerce and south africa, european union and govern*, european union and commerce, european union and mone*, "european economic community" immigration law, france "european union" employment, "european union" debt
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Europa: European Commission: Enlargement"Official information about the process of the European Union (EU) to add new countries to its membership in order 'to unite Europe peacefully after generations of division and conflict.' Provides a FAQ, country profiles, arguments and public opinion, and documents related to the expansion. Available in several languages."
- Europa: The European Union OnlineThe English language version of the official site of the European Union (EU). Provides current news and upcoming events, EU activities, information on the different institutions and bodies of the EU, official documents, and information sources and contacts. Searchable.
- European Union Internet Resources"A collection of websites about the European Union. Topics include institutions and bodies, business, research centers, documents, journals, and treaties. From the Doe & Moffitt Libraries, University of California, Berkeley."
- European Union: Delegation of the European Commission to the USAThe European Union from a US perspective. This website provides guides to EU legislation and publications, information resources on the EU, European Union Centers in the US and links to Europe Magazine and the Eurecom monthly newsletter. The site is maintained by the Delegation of the European Commission to the United States (Washington, D.C.) which serves essentially as an EU embassy.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
My Fourth Time, We Drowned: Seeking Refuge on the World's Deadliest Migration Route by Call Number: JV8790 .H39 2022ISBN: 9781612199450Publication Date: 2022-03-29
The New Odyssey: The Story of the 21st Century Refugee Crisis by Call Number: HV640 .K56 2017ISBN: 9781631492556Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Europe's Last Chance: Why the European States Must form a More Perfect Union by Call Number: JN30 .V4656 2017ISBN: 9780465096855Publication Date: 2017-01-03
The Euro: How a Common Currency Threatens the Future of Europe by Call Number: HG925 .S75 2016ISBN: 9780393254020Publication Date: 2016-08-16
The Tragedy of the European Union: Disintegration or Revival? by Call Number: HC240 S654 2014 or ebookISBN: 9781610394215Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesThe IBSS indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. Approximately 70% of the records are in English.
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Statistics
- Eurostat"Presents a "statistical view on the new Member States" of the European Union (EU). A searchable and browsable collection of statistics on economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade, and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and science and technology. Also available in French and German. From the Statistical Office of the European Communities."
Videos
- No Colors: Racism and Prejudice in Modern EuropeProgram looks at racism and xenophobia brought to the surface by the massive influx of foreign workers and job-seekers into Western Europe. Describes the search for equitable solutions by moderate European Union leaders and citizens. Examines Islamophobia, religious fundamentalism, the radicalization of young Muslim men, and racism in football or soccer.
- European UnionTraces the development of the European Union from the original six countries of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), to the 12 countries of the European Community (EC), to today's Union (EU) of 27 countries.
- The New Europe: Joining NATO and the EUDespite the breakup of the Soviet Union, NATO continued to exist, and began admitting newly liberated Eastern European countries into the organization. Reflect on Eastern Europe’s place in the western world and what joining NATO and the European Union means for the region. You’ll also explore Russia’s role in the post-Soviet world.