African Studies Portal - UW-Madison Libraries : Reference Works
This guide was created by Kimberly Rooney and Emilie Songolo and is managed by Kimberly Rooney. For questions contact kcrooney@wisc.edu.
Reference Works - Reference works are print or online resources that contain useful facts and information, for example The Encyclopedia of African History, The Dictionary of African Filmmakers, and An African Biographical Dictionary. These resources are typically sought out for particular pieces of information using indices, rather than read beginning to end. Reference books are for in-library use only while online reference resources that the UW-Madison libraries provide can be access through the libraries website using your NetID.
This page offers:
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
- Bibliographies
- Biographies
- Electronic Resources
Encyclopedias
Africana by Call Number: DT14 A37435 2005ISBN: 9780195223262Publication Date: 2005-02-01College Library Main Collection (1st Floor West, Room 1191), Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Encyclopedia of Islam by Call Number: DS35.53 C36 2009ISBN: 9780816054541Publication Date: 2009-02-01Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT2 N48 2008ISBN: 9780684314549Publication Date: 2007-10-08Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Encyclopedia of African History by Call Number: DT20 E53 2005ISBN: 9781579584535Publication Date: 2005-01-01Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Dictionaries
The United States in Africa by Call Number: DT38.1 S53 1989ISBN: 9780313258879Publication Date: 1989-06-26Historical Society Library Reading Room, Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa by Call Number: DT21.5 A76 2008ISBN: 9780810857667Publication Date: 2007-11-19Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa by Call Number: HQ1787 S44 2005ISBN: 9780810853317Publication Date: 2005-03-16Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South), Women's Studies Librarian's Office Stacks
Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa by Call Number: DT17 C65 2001ISBN: 9780810839786Publication Date: 2001-07-17Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Dictionary of African Filmmakers by Call Number: PN1998.2 A758 2008ISBN: 9780253351166Publication Date: 2008-06-20Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Bibliographies
Reference guide to Africa : a bibliography of sources by Call Number: DT4 K15 2005Publication Date: 2005Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South), Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Publishing, books & reading in Sub-Saharan Africa : a critical bibliography by Call Number: Z465.2 Z443 2008Publication Date: 2008Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South), Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving- Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers, 1987-1992 : an annotated bibliograghy by Call Number: PN1993.5 A357 S32 1994Publication Date: 1994Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
HIV/AIDS by Call Number: RA643.86 A357 M855 2005ISBN: 9789076998497Publication Date: 2004-12-01Steenbock Library Stacks (1st Floor)
Periodicals from Africa : a bibliography and union list of periodicals published in Africa by Call Number: DT1 T74 1977Publication Date: 1977Memorial Library
Reference Stacks and Stacks Regular Size Shelving
A checklist of serials for African studies by Call Number: Z3503 D8Publication Date: 1963Memorial Library
Reference Stacks
Available for in-library use
Biographies
- Africa who's whoCall Number: CT1920 A3Publication Date: 1996Memorial Library Reference Non-current (Basement North)
Women Leaders in African History by Call Number: DT18 S94 1984ISBN: 9780435944803Publication Date: 1984-04-01Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Dictionary of African Biography by Call Number: CT1920 D52 2012ISBN: 9780195382075Publication Date: 2011-12-08Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)- Political Leaders in Black Africa by Call Number: DT352.8 W57 1991ISBN: 9781852780470Publication Date: 1991-01-01Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South), Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
An African Biographical Dictionary by Call Number: DT18 B76 2006ISBN: 9781592371129Publication Date: 2006-07-01Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Digital Resources
Bibliography of Publications by ISBN: 9780821344248Publication Date: 1999-01-01Available through World Bank e-library
