African Studies Portal - UW-Madison Libraries : Countries A-L

This guide was created by Kimberly Rooney and Emilie Songolo and is managed by Kimberly Rooney. For questions contact kcrooney@wisc.edu.

General Resources by Country: Open Access Resources

BBC Country Profiles
This site supplies information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories. Each profile includes an overview, map, facts, and current leaders. A media overview provides information on the press, television, radio, news agencies, and number of Internet users. Links provided on the side of the profile connect to the latest news and key stories, BBC links, background articles, related Internet sites and video and audio clips from the BBC archives. Additional features include timelines, recent news links, background articles, Internet sites, and BBC archive video and audio clips. Information on key international organizations is also included. (Updates ongoing)
Literary Map of Africa
The Literary Map of Africa is a bio-bibliographical database, designed to be a comprehensive research and information tool on African literature. It does not focus on selected authors or national / regional litteratures, nor does it follow the sometimes rigid North & sub-Saharan Africa divide; instead, the database seeks to cover the whole continent. This wider scope makes it possible for writers from different regions and countries, with varied histories and cultures, and who produce works in diverse African and European languages to be represented in one project. One objective this project hopes to fulfill is to include as many emerging writers as possible, especially those based in Africa. Many in this category of creative writers do not have a readership beyond their national boundaries and are therefore hardly represented in many bibliographies and encyclopedias.

General Resources by Country: Restricted Access Databases

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XIV; Biological Sciences; Business; Ecology & Botany I-II; Health & General Sciences; Ireland; Language & Literature; Music. (Updated irregularly)

Algeria

Algeria map

Algeria (Political) 2001

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Algeria
Open Access Database
Country Review | Algeria
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Algeria by Richard I. Lawless
Call Number: DT275 L39
ISBN: 9780903450324
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
World bibliographical series ; v. 19
Révolution africaine
Call Number: AP R4431 A258
Publication Date: 1978-1988
Memorial Library
Journals

Films

Viva Laldjérie by Nadir Moknèche
Call Number: FR2.059.238
Publication Date: 2004
LSS Media Collection
طنغ! بركت! by Djamila Sahraoui
Call Number: AR2.026
ISBN: 231636501
Publication Date: 2008
Barakat! = Enough!
LSS Media Collection

allAfrica News Feed

Angola

Angola Map

Benin (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Angola
Open Access Database
Country Review | Angola
Restricted Access Database

Films

Kangamba by Rogelio Paris
Call Number: PN1997.2 K3526 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Verona Shelving Facility
O Herói : the hero by Zeze Gamboa
Call Number: AF2.072.071
Publication Date: 2005
LSS Media Collection
Rostov-Luanda by Abderrahmane Sissako
Call Number: PG2.015.038
Publication Date: 1997
LSS Media Collections

Commemorative Fabrics

XXIeme Coupe d'Afrique des Nations (CAN)

Fabric Commemorating the 21st African Cup of Nations

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Benin

Benin map

Benin (Political) 2007

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Benin
Open Access Database
Country Review | Benin
Restricted Access Database

Films

Si-Gueriki, la reine-mère = Queen mother by Idrissou Mora Kpaï
Call Number: PN1995.9 F67 S583 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Verona Shelving Facility

Commemorative Fabrics

Groupement National

National Association of Benin

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Botswana

Botswana map

Botswana (Political) 2005

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Botswana
Open Access Database
Country Review | Botswana
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso map

Burkina Faso (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Burkina Faso
Open Access Database
Country Review | Burkina Faso
Restricted Access Database

Films

Tasuma, the fighter by Daniel Kollo Sanou
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2014
Kanopy
Zan Boko by Gaston J. M. Kaboré
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1990
Kanopy
Dreams of Dust by Laurent Salgues
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2016
Kanopy
The Law (Tilai) by Idrissa Ouedraogo
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1990
Kanopy
Sacred Places by Jean-Marie Téno
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2009
Kanopy

Commemorative Fabrics

Burkina faso fabric

Éradication du vers de Guinée

Eradication of Guinea Worm

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Burkina faso fabric

FESPACO - Centenaire du Cinéma

Fabric Commemorating FESPACO 1995

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

XXIeme Coupe d'Afrique des Nations (CAN)

Fabric Commemorating the 21st African Cup of Nations

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Burundi

Burundi map

Burundi (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Burundi
Open Access Database
Country Review | Burundi
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Cameroon

Cameroon map

Cameroon (Political) 1998

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Cameroon
Open Access Database
Country Review | Cameroon
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Lumina : bulletin du Grand séminaire d'Otélé
Call Number: AP L9575 B936
Publication Date: 1958-1961
Memorial Library
Journals
Limited search also available on HathiTrust

Films

Les saignantes = The bloodettes by Jean-Pierre Bekolo
Call Number: PN1997.2 .S248 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Memorial Library Regular Stacks
Mr. Foot by Jean-Marie Teno
Call Number: AF2.072.054
LSS Media Collections
VHS
Clando = Clandestine by Jean-Marie Teno
Call Number: AF2.072.024
Publication Date: 1996
LSS Media Collections
Le président = The president by Jean-Pierre Bekolo
Call Number: PN1997.2 .P746 2013
Verona Shelving Facility
Quartier Mozart by Jean-Pierre Bekolo
Call Number: AF2.072.013
Publication Date: 1992
LSS Media Collections
Sango Malo = the village teacher by Bassek Ba Kobhio
Call Number: AF2.072.008
Publication Date: 1994-2007?
LSS Media Collections
Chocolat by Claire Denis
Call Number: FR2.059.103
Publication Date: 1988
LSS Media Collections
Alex's Wedding by Jean-Marie Teno
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2016
Kanopy
Aristotle's plot = Le complot d'Aristote by Jean-Pierre Bekolo
Call Number: PN1997 .A75 2010z
Publication Date: 2010
Memorial Library

Commemorative Fabrics

Cameroon fabric

Bonne Fête des Mères

Happy Mother's Day

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Cameroon fabric

8 mars 2012 - Cameroun

March 8, 2012 - Cameroon

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Cameroon fabric

Calendrier CICAM - 2009

Cloth Calendar from 2009

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Cameroon fabric

Celebrating education and literacy--red

Cloth commemorating education and literacy in Cameroon

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Cameroon fabric

Cinquantenaire Camerounais

Commemorative Cloth from Cameroon celebrating 50 years of independence

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Cameroon fabric

Comice agro-pastoral 2012

Cloth commemorating the 2012 agriculture fair in Ebolowa, Cameroon

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

*Find many more in UW-Madison Digital Collections.

allAfrica News Feed

Cape Verde

Cape Verde Map

Cape Verde (Political) 2004

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Cape Verde
Open Access Database
Country Review | Cape Verde
Restricted Access Database

Films

Cape Verde my love by Ana Lucia Ramos Lisboa
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2014
Kanopy
O testamento do senhor Napumoceno = Napomuceno's Will by Francisco Manso
Call Number: PG2.015.037
Publication Date: 2001
LSS Media Collections
Fintar O Destino (Dribbling Fate) by Fernando Vendrell
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1998
Kanopy

Central African Republic

Map

Central African Republic (Political) 2001

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Central African Republic
Open Access Database
Country Review | Central African Republic
Restricted Access Database

Films

Le Silence de la forêt by Didier Florent Ouenangare and Bassek ba Kobhio
Call Number: PN1997.2 S5753 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Verona Shelving Facility

allAfrica News Feed

Chad

Map

Chad (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Chad
Open Access Database
Country Review | Chad
Restricted Access Database

Films

Daresalam (Let there be peace) by Issa Serge Coelo
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2000
Kanopy

Commemorative Fabrics

fabric

7e Congrès du Parti Progressiste Tchadien

7th Congress of the Chadian Progressive Party

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Femme Tchadienne, debout l'avenir est à toi

Cloth celebrating Chadian women and their contributions
to the future of Chadian society

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

*Find many more in UW-Madison Digital Collections.

allAfrica News Feed

Comoros

Comoros (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Comoros
Open Access Database
Country Review | Comoros
Restricted Access Database

Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville)

map

Congo, Republic of the (Small Map) 2016

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Congo
Open Access Database
Country Review | Congo
Restricted Access Database

Commemorative Fabrics

fabric

Anniversaire de l'ouverture de l'ambassade à Brazzaville

Commemorative cloth celebrating the 30th anniversary of the
opening of the American Embassy in Brazzaville

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

Fabric

International Women's Day 2009

Journée Internationale de la Femme

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Côte d'Ivoire

map

Côte d'Ivoire (Physiography) 2004

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Côte d'Ivoire
Open Access Database
Country Review | Côte d'Ivoire
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

CIRES, Cahiers ivoiriens de recherche économique et sociale
Call Number: H39 C3
Publication Date: 1970?-1987
Memorial Library
Stacks Regular Size Shelving

Films

Moi, un noir : (Treichville) by Jean Rouch
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1958
Docuseek2
Black and White in Color (La Victoire en chantant) by Jean-Jacques Annaud
Call Number: PN1997 B583 2003
Publication Date: 1976
Verona Shelving Facility

Commemorative Fabrics

XXIeme Coupe d'Afrique des Nations (CAN)

Fabric Commemorating the 21st African Cup of Nations

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Democratic Republic of the Congo

map

Democratic Republic of the Congo (Political) 1998

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Democratic Republic of Congo
Open Access Database
Country Review | Democratic Republic of Congo
Restricted Access Database

Films

Lumumba by Raoul Peck
Call Number: AF2.072.095
Publication Date: 2002
LSS Media Collections
La Vie Est Belle (Life is Rosy) by Benoît Lamy and Mweze Ngangura
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1987
Kanopy
Viva Riva! by Djo Tunda Wa Munga
Call Number: PN1997.2 .V593 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Verona Shelving Facility
Rebelle (War Witch) by Kim Nguyen
Call Number: PN1997.2 R434 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Verona Shelving Facility
Félicité by Alain Gomis
Call Number: PN1997.2 .F45 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Verona Shelving Facility
Pièces D'Identites (Pieces of Identity) by Mweze Ngangura
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1998
Kanopy

Commemorative Fabrics

fabric

International Women's Day 2013--blue

8 Mars Journée Internationale de la Femme

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Je dénonce!

Congolese cloth denouncing sexual violence

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Pelisa ngwasuma

Primus Beer

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Pour un Congo fort

For a strong Congo

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

*Find many more in UW-Madison Digital Collections.

allAfrica News Feed

Djibouti

map

Djibouti (Political) 2002

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Djibouti
Open Access Database
Country Review | Djibouti
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Egypt

map

Egypt (Political) 1997

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Egypt
Open Access Database
Country Review | Egypt
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Egyptian journal of archaeological & restoration studies
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2011-
Free E-Journals

Films

ʻImārat Yaʻqūbiyān by Marwan Hamed
Call Number: AR2.042
Publication Date: 2007
LSS Media Collections
Cairo 678 by Mohamed Diab
Call Number: AR2.046
Publication Date: 2010
LSS Media Collections
Ketika cinta bertasbih by Chaerul Umam
Call Number: PN1997.2 K474 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Verona Shelving Facility
Mother of the Bride by Atef Salem
Call Number: AR2.051
Publication Date: 1964
LSS Media Collections
دعاء الكروان [ڤيديو] - Duʻāʼ al-karawān, The Curlew's Cry by Henry Barakat
Call Number: AR2.052
Publication Date: 1959
LSS Media Collections
Fallen angels paradise by Ossama Fawzi
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1999
Kanopy
ا من ان ر هس في بيتنا رجل, A man in our house = Fī baytinā rajul by Henri Barakat
Call Number: AR2.050
Publication Date: 1961
LSS Media Collections
Excuse my French by Amr Salama
Call Number: AR2.064
Publication Date: 2014
LSS Media Collections
Perempuan berkalung sorban = Woman with a Turban by Hanung Bramantyo
Call Number: PN1997.2 P464 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Verona Shelving Facility

allAfrica News Feed

Equatorial Guinea

map

Equatorial Guinea (Political) 1992

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Equatorial Guinea
Open Access Database
Country Review | Equatorial Guinea
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Eswatini (Swaziland)

map

Swaziland (Political) 1990

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Swaziland
Open Access Database
Country Review | Swaziland
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Eritrea

map

Eritrea (Political) 1986

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Eritrea
Open Access Database
Country Review | Eritrea
Restricted Access Database

allAfrica News Feed

Ethiopia

map

Ethiopia 2009

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Ethiopia
Open Access Database
Country Review | Ethiopia
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Horn of Africa bulletin
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1989
Free E-Journals
HathiTrust

Films

Lamb by Yared Zeleke
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2015
Kanopy
The Father by Ermias Woldeamlak
Call Number: PN1997 A1 F38 2000 or Online Access
Publication Date: 2000
Verona Shelving Facility
Kanopy

allAfrica News Feed

Gabon

map

Gabon (Political) 2002

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Gabon
Open Access Database
Country Review | Gabon
Restricted Access Database

Films

Dôlè (Money) by Imunga Ivanga
Call Number: PN1997.2 D654 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Verona Shelving Facility
Le grand blanc de Lambaréné = The great white man of Lambaréné by Bassek Ba Kobhio
Call Number: PN1997 G719 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Verona Shelving Facility

allAfrica News Feed

Gambia

map

Gambia (Political) 1988

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Gambia
Open Access Database
Country Review | Gambia
Restricted Access Database

Commemorative Fabrics

fabric

Senegambia Confederation

Fabric Commemorating a partnership between
Senegal and the Gambia

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Senegambie

Senegambia Confederation

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Ghana

map

Ghana (Political) 2007

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Ghana
Open Access Database
Country Review | Ghana
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Ghana, a current bibliography by Research Library on African Affairs (Accra, Ghana)
Call Number: Z3785 G445
Publication Date: 1968-1979
Memorial Library
Stacks Oversize
The Economic bulletin of Ghana by Economic Society of Ghana
Call Number: HC517 G6 E25
Publication Date: 1966-1975
Memorial Library
Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Limited search also available on HathiTrust

Films

Sankofa by Haile Gerima
Call Number: AF2.072.057
Publication Date: 2003
LSS Media Collections
Kukurantumi : road to Accra by King Ampaw
Call Number: PN1995.9 F67 K82 1983 or Online Access
Publication Date: 1983
Verona Shelving Facility
Kanopy

Commemorative Fabrics

fabric

Ghana: championing African Excellence

Cloth celebrating Ghana's 50th anniversary of independence

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Onipa Nny Aye

Akan proverb: man is ungrateful

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

Akwaaba, Barack Obama!

Commemorative cloth celebrating President Barack Obama's
visit to Ghana, July 10-11, 2009

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

fabric

XXIeme Coupe d'Afrique des Nations (CAN)

Fabric Commemorating the 21st African Cup of Nations

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Guinea

map

Guinea (Political) 2002

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Guinea
Open Access Database
Country Review | Guinea
Restricted Access Database

Films

Dakan (Destiny) by Mohamed Camara
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1997
Kanopy

Commemorative Fabrics

Union des Forces démocratiques de Guinée (UFDG)

Union of Democratic Forces of Guinea

Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries - Link

allAfrica News Feed

Guinea-Bissau

map

Guinea-Bissau (Political) 1992

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Guinea-Bissau
Open Access Database
Country Review | Guinea-Bissau
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Soronda by Instituto Nacional de Estudos e Pesquisa
Call Number: AP S7122 A1 B623
Publication Date: 1986-1997
Memorial Library
Journals
Limited search also available on HathiTrust

Films

Mortu Nega (Those Whom Death Refused) by Flora Gomes
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1988
Kanopy

allAfrica News Feed

Kenya

map

Kenya (Political) 1988

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas at Austin - Link

Online Resources and Databases

Literary Map of Africa | Kenya
Open Access Database
Country Review | Kenya
Restricted Access Database

Print Works

Thought and practice : a journal of the Philosophical Association of Kenya
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2009-
Free E-Journals

Films

Muigwithania by Amit Tyagi
Call Number: PN1997.2 M839 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Verona Shelving Facility
Nirgendwo in Afrika = Nowhere in Africa by Caroline Link
Call Number: GR2.106.349
Publication Date: 2003
LSS Media Collections
The First Grader by Justin Chadwick
Call Number: AF2.072.090
Publication Date: 2011
LSS Media Collections