African Studies Portal - UW-Madison Libraries : Religion
- Getting StartedToggle Dropdown
- In the News
- General Research ResourcesToggle Dropdown
- Research Guides by Subject
- Works by UW-Madison Faculty
- Campus Resources
- Jobs and Funding
- Award Winning Literature and Film
- Community Exchanges
This guide was created by Kimberly Rooney and Emilie Songolo and is managed by Kimberly Rooney. For questions contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Lumina : bulletin du Grand séminaire d'OtéléCall Number: AP L9575 B936Publication Date: 1958-1961Memorial Library
Limited search also available on HathiTrust
- Cahiers des religions africainesCall Number: AP C132 D54Publication Date: 1973-1991Memorial Library
- Journal of Africana religionsCall Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 1974-1988JSTOR
- Bulletin for Old Testament studies in AfricaCall Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2000-2006Free E-Journals
- ATLA Religion DatabaseThe ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Featuring articles written in 36 languages, ATLA includes over 400,000 article citations from over 1,400 journals, 600 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 200,000 essay citations from 15,500 multi-author works, over 375,000 book reviews, and features 128,000 subject-headings.
- Encyclopaedia of IslamThe Encyclopaedia of Islam includes more than 15,000 articles on the current state of the Islamic world, from religion and history to politics and culture. Articles cover distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties crafts sciences political and religious institutions the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of various countries and the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states. (Updated Irregularly)
- Index IslamicusThe Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a hundred years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
- World Religions: Belief, Culture, and ControversyThe diversity of faiths and beliefs in human experience makes the study of religion uniquely fascinating and valuable. Religion plays an essential role in societies worldwide, motivating decisions in every facet of life. Religion isn't simply an aspect of human culture—our beliefs define who we are and directly affect how we view the world.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveJSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XIV; Biological Sciences; Business; Ecology & Botany I-II; Health & General Sciences; Ireland; Language & Literature; Music. (Updated irregularly)