African Studies Portal - UW-Madison Libraries : Anthropology
- Getting StartedToggle Dropdown
- In the News
- General Research ResourcesToggle Dropdown
- Research Guides by Subject
- Works by UW-Madison Faculty
- Campus Resources
- Jobs and Funding
- Award Winning Literature and Film
- Community Exchanges
This guide was created by Kimberly Rooney and Emilie Songolo and is managed by Kimberly Rooney. For questions contact email@example.com.
- Anthropology of Africa by Nchoji NkwiCall Number: Online AccessISBN: 9789956792924Publication Date: 2015-01-01ProQuest Ebook Central
- Ordering Africa by Helen L. Tilley (Editor); Robert J. Gordon (Editor)Call Number: GN645 O634 2007ISBN: 9780719062391Publication Date: 2007-04-01Memorial Library
- Reversed Gaze by Mwenda NtarangwiCall Number: GN17.3 U6 N83 2010ISBN: 9780252035791Publication Date: 2010-12-03Memorial Library
- The Postcolonial Turn: Re-Imagining Anthropology and Africa by Rene Devisch (Editor); Francis B. Nyamnjoh (Editor)Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9789956726653Publication Date: 2011-11-01Project Muse eBooks
- The African anthropologist : journal of the Pan African Anthropological Association = L'anthropologue africain : revue de l'Association panafricaine de l'anthropologie by Pan African Anthropological AssociationCall Number: AP A258 A6282 and Online AccessPublication Date: 2000-2001Memorial Library
Limited search also available on HathiTrust
- Nyame akuma by Department of Archaeology, University of CalgaryCall Number: AP N9944 A317Publication Date: 1972-2004Memorial Library
- Anthropological Index OnlineAnthropological Index Online contains citations for more than 770 international journals and special interest publications in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. Journals indexed are published in more than 40 languages. In anthropology, all geographical regions are covered, with particularly strong coverage of Eastern and Central Europe. In archaeology, coverage concentrates on Eastern and Central Europe and the Soviet Union, the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific; Western Europe and Classical antiquity are not covered in great detail.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Vol IA comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind, Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. (Updates unknown)
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesThe IBSS indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. Approximately 70% of the records are in English. (Updated quarterly)
- Anthropological LiteratureAnthropological Literature is a comprehensive, international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. It offers more than 500,000 citations from approximately 4,000 sources in more than 50 languages. Contains articles and essays on social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects emphasizing Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology (Updated monthly).
- AnthroSourceAnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. It provides an electronic archive of all AAA journals and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist. (Updates vary)
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveJSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XIV; Biological Sciences; Business; Ecology & Botany I-II; Health & General Sciences; Ireland; Language & Literature; Music. (Updated irregularly)
Digital and Digitized Resources
- Ethnographic Collection of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of AnthropologyThe UW-Madison Department of Anthropology curates ethnographic objects, archaeological artifacts, biological anthropology specimens, and related archives such as photographs, slides, paper documents, maps, and film. The anthropology collections are made available for teaching, exhibition, and research. The ethnographic research collection consists of materials obtained primarily during the early-mid 20th century and were collected by faculty members and graduate students, although some objects were donated to the Department by private citizens. The ethnographic research collection contains objects from six of seven continents. Although geographically widespread, the collection includes a sizeable group of objects originating from Brazil.