- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide
- Legal & Political Research
Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide : Legal & Political Research
This research guide will help you find resources for journalism and mass communication research.
Legal & Political Research
For more extensive subject-specific legal research help, see the UW Law Library's list of research guides. If you need assistance, please contact the Journalism Reading Room Librarian or stop by the Journalism Reading Room at 2130 Vilas Hall.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryVideos and transcripts of C-Span programs; includes public affairs programming, Congressional proceedings, news conferences, BookTV non-fiction author talks and interviews, and more. Contains every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours.
- Hein OnlineHein publishes 17 databases of government publications and a host of other legal documents including the US Federal Register and the Presidential Library, all accessible through UW Madison's Database Library.
- PolitiFact WisconsinPolitiFact Wisconsin is a partnership of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and PolitiFact.com, run by the St. Petersburg Times. Reporters and researchers from the Journal Sentinel examine statements by Wisconsin elected officials, candidates and anyone else who speaks up on matters of public importance and rate the accuracy of those statements.
- Congress.govExcellent resource for current information on bills introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives or Senate. Browse bills by keyword or find bills by sponsor, browse what's currently up for debate, or browse the Congressional Record. From the Library of Congress.
- USA.gov"The U.S. Government's Official Portal" provides an excellent directory of federal, state, and local agencies and individuals.
- USA SpendingA government web site with data on all federal contracts and grants in the United States. It was created as a result of the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act.
- Wisconsin ActsActs passed by the Wisconsin Legislature since 1969. A table of statutes sections affected by Wisconsin Acts since 1995 and Governor's Veto Messages are also available.
- Wisconsin BillsWisconsin bills, acts, and resolutions, including bill histories and amendments.
- Wisconsin BriefsBriefs for Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases, both published and unpublished.
- Wisconsin Circuit Court AccessWCCA provides access to certain public records of the circuit courts of Wisconsin. The court record summaries viewed here are all public records under Wisconsin open records law.
- Wisconsin LegislatureBrowse and search current activities of the Wisconsin Assembly and Senate.
- Wisconsin State Law LibraryWealth of information on all types of legal research. Recommended navigation is by clicking on 'legal topics' and choosing A-Z topics.
- Wisconsin StatutesWisconsin Statutes from the Legislative Reference Bureau. Statutes are updated with the integration of Acts from the current legislative session.
- Wisconsin Supreme Court & Court of Appeals Case AccessWSCCA provides public access to the status of appeals filed with the Wisconsin Supreme Court and the Wisconsin Court of Appeals. Generally, this site includes appeals that were considered "Open" from the end of 1993 forward.
- Wisconsin Supreme Court Pending CasesThe table of pending cases lists all cases that the Supreme Court has accepted for review. The table is updated regularly.
