Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide : J560 Baughman

Search and view American newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Website also includes useful “Topics” section with info & articles pulled together on a subject by the Library of Congress. Great idea-finding option is ‘search available newspapers’ to see what can be viewed online.

A combined search/browse option for all four databases by the same company: Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 7, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. Useful limiting tabs include ‘Eras in American history’ and 'U.S. Presidential Eras'. Contains some regionally important titles such as the New Orleans' Times-Picayune, Detroit Plaindealer, and the Portland Oregonian.

Although a bit early chronologically for this research project, this database includes helpful resources such as subject-specific research guides, and an advanced search option that lets you search within certain sections of newspapers for keywords.

Provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1960-1989.

An image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. To get started, click on 'browse' on the left-hand side of the screen or click 'research guide' for pre-arranged sources on a subject.

This collection consists of 908 original posters produced from 1936 to 1943 as part of Franklin Delano Roosevelt's New Deal. These striking posters were designed to publicize health and safety programs; cultural programs including art exhibitions, musical performances; travel and tourism and more. To begin, click on 'collection highlights' or keyword search.

A resource of over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the U.S. To familiarize oneself with the collection, click on 'browse' on the left-hand side of the screen or click on 'research guide' for pre-arranged resources on a subject.

This collection presents a variety of television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for a major commercial product. While the interface is not user-friendly, this is a useful historical resource for those interested in the history of advertising.

This website contains color images of the contents of the Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive. These images include print ads, outdoor ads, point-of-sale and direct marketing materials dating back to the early 1900s, including some materials which may not have been published or publicly displayed. While the user interface is not ideal, successful searches can be completed using keywords such as 'marlboro' or other brand names. Searches can also be limited based on date range.