- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide
- Diversity in Journalism Collection
Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide : Diversity in Journalism Collection
This research guide will help you find resources for journalism and mass communication research.
Introduction
The Journalism Reading Room holds a collection of books, resources on media sites, and featured journalist profiles by and about people with identities that have been underrepresented in the field.
Visit the JRR to check out or browse the physical items in the collection, or browse the digital version of the collection on this page!
Books
The 1619 Project by Call Number: E441 .A15 2021ISBN: 9780593230572Publication Date: 2021-11-16The New York Times Magazine's award-winning 1619 Project issue reframed our understanding of American history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. This book substantially expands on that work, weaving together eighteen essays that explore the legacy of slavery in present-day America with thirty-six poems and works of fiction that illuminate key moments of oppression, struggle, and resistance. The essays show how the inheritance of 1619 reaches into every part of contemporary American society, from politics, music, diet, traffic, and citizenship to capitalism, religion, and our democracy itself.
Cross-Cultural Journalism and Strategic Communication by Call Number: PN4749 .C76 2020ISBN: 1138595217Publication Date: 2019-11-21Built using the hands-on and pioneering Missouri Method, this textbook prepares readers to write about and communicate with people of different backgrounds, offering real-world examples of how to practice excellent journalism and strategic communication that takes culture into account. It provides guidance on communicating the complexity inherent in issues such as crime, immigration, and sports, and understanding census data gathering methods and terms to craft stories or strategic campaigns. Above all, the book encourages readers to reconsider assumptions about race, class, gender, identity, sexual orientation, immigration status, religion, disability, and age, and recognize communicators' responsibilities in shaping national discussions.
Decolonizing Journalism by Call Number: PN4914 I553 M33 2023ISBN: 9780190164263Publication Date: 2023-01-06Written by a leading Indigenous journalist Duncan McCue, Decolonizing Journalism delivers practical, up-to-date advice in a guidebook-like text that students will use throughout their studies and careers. Readers will learn how to develop a critical consciousness when engaging with and reporting on Indigenous communities, and will draw insights into the histories, processes, and obstacles central to decolonizing journalism from exclusive interviews with 9 leading Indigenous journalists.
Indian Country Today : 2019 by Call Number: GN380 I35 2020ISBN: 9798684537226Publication Date: 2020This book features a selection of top Indigenous stories in news, entertainment and opinion from across Indian Country. The articles, written for Indian Country Today in 2019, take readers across Turtle Island and explore issues featuring some of the year's most powerful Native voices - including an exclusive interview with U.S. Rep. Deb Haaland, the recent fight for the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the story of the first all-Native American bull riding team.Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Micro Media Industries by Call Number: P94.5.H5942 U656 2021ISBN: 1978823355Publication Date: 2021-08-13With the rise of digital tools used for media entrepreneurship, media outlets staffed by only one or two individuals and targeted to niche and super-niche audiences are developing across a wide range of platforms. Minority communities such as immigrants and refugees have long been pioneers in this space, operating ethnic media outlets with limited staff and funding to produce content that is relevant and accessible to their specific community. Micro Media Industries explores the specific case of Hmong American media, showing how an extremely small population can maintain a robust and thriving media ecology in spite of resource limitations and an inability to scale up. Based on six years of fieldwork in Hmong American communities in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and California, it analyzes the unique opportunities and challenges facing Hmong newspapers, radio, television, podcasts, YouTube, social media, and other emerging platforms. It argues that micro media industries, rather than being dismissed or trivialized, ought to be held up as models of media innovation that can counter the increasing power of mainstream media.
Navigating White News by Call Number: O4 2023ISBN: 9781978831452Publication Date: 2023-03-17Combining critical race studies with cultural production studies, Navigating White News: Asian American Journalists at Work is the only academic book to examine the ways that racial identification and activation matters in their understanding of news. Employing in-depth interviews with twenty Asian American journalists who are actively working in large and small newsrooms across the United States, Navigating White News: Asian American Journalists at Work argues that Asian American reporters for whom racial identities are important questioned what counted as news, questioned the implicitly White perspective of objectivity, and actively worked toward providing more complex, substantive coverage of Asian American communities. For Asian American reporters for whom racial identity was not meaningful, they were more invested in existing professional norms. Regardless, all journalists understood that news is a predominantly and culturally White institution.
On Islam by Call Number: P96.I84 O5 2018ISBN: 9780253032553Publication Date: 2018-02-05In the constant deluge of media coverage on Islam, Muslims are often portrayed as terrorists, refugees, radicals, or victims, depictions that erode human responses of concern, connection, or even a willingness to learn about Muslims. On Islam helps break this cycle with information and strategies to understand and report the modern Muslim experience. Journalists, activists, bloggers, and scholars offer insights into how Muslims are represented in the media today and offer tips for those covering Islam in the future. Interviews provide personal and often moving firsthand accounts of people confronting the challenges of modern life while maintaining their Muslim faith, and brief overviews provide a crash course on Muslim beliefs and practices.
Reckoning by Call Number: PN4784 O24 C455 2020ISBN: 9780190067083Publication Date: 2019-12-31How do journalists know what they know? Who gets to decide what good journalism is and when it's done right? What sort of expertise do journalists have, and what role should and do they play in society? Drawing on their five years of research with journalists in the U.S. and Canada, in a variety of news organizations from startups and freelancers to mainstream media, the authors find a digital reckoning taking place regarding journalism's founding ideals and methods. The book explores journalism's long-standing representational harms, arguing that despite thoughtful explorations of the role of publics in journalism, the profession hasn't adequately addressed matters of gender, race, intersectionality, and settler colonialism. In doing so, the authors rethink the basis for what journalism says it could and should do, suggesting that a turn to strong objectivity and systems journalism provides a path forward.
Rise of the Black Quarterback by Call Number: GV939.A1 R45 2022ISBN: 9781368076623Publication Date: 2022-08-02In September 2019, ESPN's The Undefeated website (now Andscape) began a season-long series of articles on the emergence of Black quarterbacks in the NFL. The first article in the series was Jason Reid's enormously popular, "Welcome to the Year of the Black Quarterback." The series culminated with an hour-long television program in February 2020, hosted by Reid himself. The Rise of the Black Quarterback: What It Means for America will expand on Reid's piece-as well as the entire series-and chronicle the shameful history of the treatment of Black players in the NFL and the breakout careers of a thrilling new generation of Black quarterbacks. Intimate portraits of Colin Kaepernick, Patrick Mahomes, Lamar Jackson, and Kyler Murray feature prominently in the book, as well as the careers and legacy of beloved NFL players such as Doug Williams and trailblazing pioneers Marlin Briscoe and Eldridge Dickey.
Sounds of Belonging by Call Number: PN1991.3.U6 C365 2014ISBN: 0814770657Publication Date: 2014-10-17Investigating the cultural and political history of U.S. Spanish-language broadcasts throughout the twentieth century, Sounds of Belonging reveals how changes have helped Spanish-language radio secure its dominance in the major U.S. radio markets. Bringing together theories on the immigration experience with sound and radio studies, Dolores Inés Casillas documents how Latinos form listening relationships with Spanish-language radio programming. Casillas focuses on Latinos' use of Spanish-language radio to help navigate their immigrant experiences with U.S. institutions, for example in broadcasting discussions about immigration policies while providing anonymity for a legally vulnerable listenership. Sounds of Belonging proposes that debates of citizenship are not always formal personal appeals but a collective experience heard loudly through broadcast radio.
Media
Podcasts
- Code Switch: Explorations of “how race affects every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, food and everything in between,” hosted by journalists of color.
- Latino USA: The “longest running national Latino news and cultural public radio program.”
- LGBTQ&A: Podcast documenting modern LGBTQIA+ history, hosted by GLAAD Award-winning journalist Jeffrey Masters.
- This Land: Documentary podcast about tribal sovereignty and civil rights, hosted by activist and writer Rebecca Nagle, whose work has been published in a variety of news outlets.
Indigenous Media Outlets
- Buffalo's Fire: Independent news from the Indigenous Media Freedom Alliance.
- Indian Country Today: An independent, nonprofit news platform focused on covering Indigenous peoples.
- Indianz.com: “Native American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.”
- Native America Calling: A daily, live call-in program centered around issues specific to Native and Indigenous communities.
Diverse Media Outlets
- Chicago Defender: Multi-media news provider covering the interests of urban African Americans.
- Ethnic Media Services: News and marketing campaigns aimed at engaging diverse audiences.
- Hmong Times: Wisconsin-based newspaper about Hmong communities.
- Madison365: News platform centered around members of diverse communities; includes articles and podcasts.
Student Media
- Visit here for a list of student news platforms and podcasts.
Journalism Reading Room
Michelle Foster
she/her
Contact:
2130 Vilas Hall
821 University Ave.
Madison, WI 53706
jrrlib@library.wisc.edu
821 University Ave.
Madison, WI 53706
jrrlib@library.wisc.edu
608-263-3387
Website
