Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide : J676 Vaughn

Use UW-Madison's library catalog to find print and electronic materials such as books, journals, theses & dissertations, visual materials, and more.
Once you find a good book, use the subject headings listed to link to other similar books. Don't forget about UW System search for popular books.

A must-use article database for the fields of communication and media studies. The database indexes over 370 journals related to the communication discipline with approximately 240 of the journals available full text.

Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. The database includes company, industry and country reports; in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; and scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers. Includes full text of Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times. ProQuest One Business contains all content previously available in other databases, including Business Premium Collection, ABI/INFORM, and J.P. Morgan Research.

A full-text database of more than 900 business journals plus an indexing and abstracting database of approximately 1600 journals. Both scholarly and popular business magazines are included.

A database that provides full text articles from more than 500 journals covering topics from social sciences, humanities, biological sciences and business. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.

Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni is a good place to start one's current news searches. It is composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text including international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Advertisements, obituaries, graphics, and syndicated features are typically not included.

Formerly ProQuest Newspapers, Newspaper Source Plus provides access to 1,520 full-text current newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.

A searchable (in English and Spanish) database of more than 200 "ethnic, minority and native" publications.

These experts from the UW-Madison faculty and staff have agreed to comment on breaking news, ongoing developments and trends in their areas of expertise. If you need help arranging interviews, contact University Communications at 608-262-3571.

RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero

EndNote is desktop and app-based citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication.

Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to use, but not robust enough to support writing large documents.