Skip to main content

Health Sciences Tutorials : How to Order an Article Through a Database

How to Order an Article Through a Database

You may run across articles that do not have the full text available. In this case, you can request an article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This tutorial will guide you through this process when you are already in the database and have the article ready.

Step 1: Find the article you need that does not have full text. In this example, we will be using the article “Taking Care of the Hateful Patient.”

Step 2: After finding the article in your desired database look for the “Find It” button on the side of the webpage. Do not click the full text link of the publisher, since we already know we do not have full-text access.

Screenshot of article on PubMed with FindIt button

Step 3: The “Find It” button should launch you to a page with multiple options. From here you want to click the “Request A Copy” button.

Image of FindIt result with Request a Copy link

Step 4: After clicking “Request A Copy” you will be directed to the ILL request form. You may first be asked to select your institution (UW-Madison) and enter your NetID. After doing this you will be re-routed back to the request form.

Step 5: The fields of the request form should be auto-filled with the article that you are requesting. Before hitting submit make sure that all the fields are filled out correctly. *You should make a special note if you have a preferred language for the article or if you would like it in color. Double check that your email address is correct, if it is not click the Change Pickup Library and Verify Email Address tab for further direction, then hit submit when done.

This is a screengrab of the Article Request form. The appropriate fields are filled out. Circled in red are the notes field, email address field, and the submit request button.