BIOLOGY152: Introductory Biology: IP-Finding Research Articles and Databases (Spring 2023) : Finding Full Text
- Your Independent Project and the Library
- Background InformationToggle Dropdown
- Mentored StudentsToggle Dropdown
- Find Articles
- Finding Full Text
- Evaluating and Using Articles/Primary & Secondary (Review) articles in the Sciences
- Articles with Online Supplemental Material
- Citing Sources & Citation ManagersToggle Dropdown
- Exploring Citation NetworksToggle Dropdown
- Managing Your Research Data
- Get Published
Finding Full Text
To find the full text of articles from database search results:
- In a database, click the red "Find It" button or the "Find It at UW Madison" link next to an article citation.
- Under Full Text Online, click the link. It may take you directly to the article, or you might need to choose the date, volume, issue and scan for the article. If one link doesn't work, try another.
If the FindIT system says that there is No Full Text Online, you can request a copy of the article from the library:
- Check the Library Catalog to see if we own a print copy of the journal. Be sure to check the Library Has part of the record to make sure the correct date and volume are there before going to the library.
- Click Request a Copy at the end of the Find It results page. Log in with your NetID. It will transfer the citation from the database to the article request form - fill in any missing required information. You'll get an email when a PDF of the article is available - usually in 1-3 days - at no charge to you.