BIOLOGY 152: Introductory Biology: IP-Finding Research Articles and Databases (Spring 2024) : Find Articles
- Your Independent Project and the Library
- Background InformationToggle Dropdown
- Mentored StudentsToggle Dropdown
- Find Articles
- Finding Full Text
- Evaluating and Using Articles/Primary & Secondary (Review) articles in the Sciences
- Articles with Online Supplemental Material
- Citing Sources & Citation ManagersToggle Dropdown
- Exploring Citation NetworksToggle Dropdown
- Managing Your Research Data
- Get Published
Locating Article Databases
- Finding Article DatabasesThis tutorial will explain how you can locate a useful article database from the hundreds of databases the UW-Madison Libraries license/subscribe to by searching for a database name or by subject/topic.
Searching Within Databases
Recommended Article Databases
- Library Lab Database Pro/Con SummaryThis document summarizes the major points about databases to use for searching that were observed in the Spring 2020 Library Lab.
Exploring the UW Library's Introductory Databases list, Top 10 Databases list, and Databases by Subject/Type page are effective ways to locate appropriate databases for finding articles for your Independent Project.
If you are off-campus, you can access these resources by entering your UW-Madison NetID and Password when prompted.
Databases that have strong, multidisciplinary coverage of many subjects in and beyond the Biosciences are useful starting points. Past Biology 152 students have used these databases:
- Pubmed (Custom UW link for broader full-text access)
- Scopus
- Web of Science
- GoogleScholar (Custom UW link for broader full-text access)
Databases with focused coverage of a particular discipline can help you explore your subject thoroughly. Some specialty databases that past students have used are:
- Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Database
- CAB Abstracts (Biological & Veterinary)
- CINAHL Plus (Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
- FSTA: Food Science & Technology Abstracts
- PsychInfo
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Remember, if you need help discovering sources or places to start your search, Ask A Librarian!