Journalism & Mass Communication Research Guide : Databases: Getting Started

A database that provides full text articles from more than 500 journals covering topics from social sciences, humanities, biological sciences and business. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.

LexisNexis Academic is a good place to start one's current news searches. It is composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text including international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Advertisements, obituaries, graphics, and syndicated features are typically not included.

An up-to-the minute site analyzing current and long-standing issues.

A one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on hot topics like political corruption, bioethics, and hate crimes.

Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. The database includes company, industry and country reports; in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; and scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers. Includes full text of Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times. ProQuest One Business contains all content previously available in other databases, including Business Premium Collection, ABI/INFORM, and J.P. Morgan Research.

An excellent source for market research reports but varies in content by industry. Use Mintel to find market size and trends, market drivers, consumer attitudes, advertising and marketing, and retail distribution. Contains international and U.S. industry reports.

The Associated Press Online Archive is a collection of news stories, in various stage of production, covering major local, regional, and national stories. This fully-searchable database includes news stories, correspondence, internal communications, and photography documenting 19th- and 20th-century American history.

A must-use article database for the fields of communication and media studies. The database indexes over 370 journals related to the communication discipline with approximately 240 of the journals available full text.

Formerly ProQuest Newspapers, Newspaper Source Plus provides access to 1,520 full-text current newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.