Food Science : Databases

Multidisciplinary database that provides access to news, reports, books, academic journals, and more.

Multidisciplinary search engine to find scholarly materials. Log in through the UW-Madison Libraries website in order to access articles.

Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature across the sciences.

Guide to searching for a database by name or by subject/topic.

Includes research journals, USDA publications, FAO publications, conference proceedings, and books. Covers agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, animal industries, animal nutrition, botany, plant science, soil science, and environmental impact.

Leading scholarly database covering agriculture and natural resources worldwide.

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free access to thousands of scholarly articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, health care systems, and more.

Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. The database includes company, industry and country reports; in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; and scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers. Includes full text of Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times. ProQuest One Business contains all content previously available in other databases, including Business Premium Collection, ABI/INFORM, and J.P. Morgan Research.

Includes scholarly, trade and popular business magazines covering all business disciplines. Market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses are also included.

Directory of suppliers and products.

Collection of resources on public, private, and nonprofit companies.

Collection of resources for industry research.

International database referencing world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology. It includes gray literature not available through normal publication and distribution channels. National, international and intergovernmental centers contribute references to the agricultural literature produced within their boundaries. The database is coordinated and made available by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

Covers all aspects of biology including bacteriology, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, pathology, physiology, toxicology, virology, zoology, and more.

Search scholarly materials, standards, legislation, and patents covering beverages, cocoa and chocolate, commodity technology, dairy products, dietetic foods, fats and oils, fermentation technology, fish, flour and bakery products, food additives and engineering, food hygiene, food laws, meat and poultry, sugars, and toxicology.

Online collection of American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. Digital images of the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full-text transcriptions.

Primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history, illustrating links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status.

Collection of full cookbooks and recipes in manuscripts from the collections of the Winterthur Museum and Library, from 1669 to 1990. Includes recipes for the kitchen, medicinal formulas, and more.

Collection of archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.