An article database with articles from more than 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals. Look here when starting your research to find articles on the world of business and current trends.
- Business Monitor International
A must-use resource for international industry and market research. To start, choose a country from the drop-down regional menus and then choose an industry sector from the left-hand side. BMI has detailed quarterly reports for industry sectors, country risk reports, and company intelligence for top multinational companies and their subsidiaries.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
A must-use article database for the fields of communication and media studies. The database indexes over 370 journals related to the communication discipline with approximately 240 of the journals available full text.
- CQ Researcher
An up-to-the minute site analyzing current and long-standing issues. Recommended navigation: browse the issues covered by clicking on "Issue Tracker" on the left-hand side.
A database that provides full text articles from more than 500 journals covering topics from social sciences, humanities, biological sciences and business. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a good place to start one's current news searches. It is composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text including international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Advertisements, obituaries, graphics, and syndicated features are typically not included.
- The library catalog
Use UW-Madison's library catalog for finding print and electronic materials such as books, journals, theses & dissertations, visual materials, and more.
- Mintel Oxygen
An excellent source for market research reports but varies in content by industry. Use Mintel to find market size and trends, market drivers, consumer attitudes, advertising and marketing, and retail distribution. Contains international and U.S. industry reports. To browse reports, click on 'report categories' and find appropriate market area. To search for a report, type in a keyword into the 'search' text bar at the top right of the screen.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Formerly ProQuest Newspapers, Newspaper Source Plus provides access to 1,520 full-text current newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
Includes fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns—from The Washington Post to the Stevens Point Gazette (see full title list). An excellent tool to research genealogy, history, culture and newsworthy events in a local context. Years of coverage vary by newspaper.
Provides extensive information on Companies, Industries, Executives, and News. This is the place to start for finding detailed information on companies, analysts' reports for industries, information on top executives, and the latest news in the business world.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on hot topics like political corruption, bioethics, and hate crimes.
- UW-Madison Experts Guide
These experts from the UW-Madison faculty and staff have agreed to comment on breaking news, ongoing developments and trends in their areas of expertise. If you need help arranging interviews, contact University Communications at 608-262-3571.