Research Guides: Global Health Resources: The Americas

Overview

This page contains links to reports, data, statistics, and literature databases for the Americas.

Reports, Data, Statistics

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
A good source for locating country-specific health and education resources.
PAHO (Pan-American Health Organization)
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System and as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
WHO (World Health Organization) country profiles
Data summaries for the member nations of WHO.

Literature Databases

ADOLEC; Literature on Adolescent Health
From BIREME/PAHO/WHO - Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information.
Biblioteca Virtual en Desarrollo Sostenible y Salud
Articles on sustainable development and health topics; in multiple languages.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
HAPI Online contains worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. It covers materials published in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals.
LILACS
LILACS is an important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The search interface is in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Redalyc
This database includes over 620 academic journals, covering health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese. All articles are available full-text and the interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.
more...less...
Redalyc is an effort working under Open Access supported by the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico.
SciELO
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Virtual Health Library
The VHL provides research portals for evidence-based practice, health technology, and more. It also includes specialized resources in disaster medicine, environmental health, and more.
more...less...
The Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences, also known by its original name Regional Library of Medicine (BIREME, acronym in Portuguese), is a specialized center of the Pan American Health Organization World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) oriented to technical cooperation in scientific health information. The headquarters of BIREME is located in Brazil, in the central campus of the Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP) since its creation in 1967, according to agreement between PAHO and the Government of Brazil.

Library Research Guides - University of Wisconsin Ebling Library

Global Health Resources : The Americas

Overview

Reports, Data, Statistics

Literature Databases