General Databases
- CINAHLHealth Sciences database (EBSCO) that covers literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, and related allied health disciplines. Also contains care sheets, education modules, research instruments records, standards of practice, and educational software.
- PubMedPubMed is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar contains articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Core Global Health Databases
- PAIS InternationalPublic Affairs Information Service indexes more than 900 journals; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Its subject matter covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- The Lancet Global Health PortalThe Lancet Global Health Series are groups of articles on a topic of global health importance. Research into prevalent conditions and wider health policy issues are reported by a range of experts.
- Global Index MedicusThe Global Index Medicus is maintained by the World Health Organization. It provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Not finding what you're looking for? Check out the Ebling Library's Health Sciences Databases A-Z for links to additional databases.
Additional Resources
- BioMed Central: Global Health GatewayHighlighting the latest BMC open access journal articles and resources in global health.
- CDC Global HealthCDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more.
- CDC Health Information for International Travel- The Yellow BookCDC's Yellow Book (Health Information for International Travel) is published every two years as a resource for health professionals providing care to international travelers. The fully revised and updated CDC Yellow Book 2020 compiles the US government’s most current travel health guidelines, including pretravel vaccine recommendations, destination-specific health advice, and easy-to-reference maps, tables, and charts.
- GlobalHealth.govA portal for the U S Department of Health and Human Services Office of International and Refugee Health. It has links to world health statistics, as well as OIRH publications.
- HINARIHINARI Programme set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature.
- OECD iLibrarySourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes 20 book collections by theme, 24 periodicals, the OECD statistical databases, and the OECD Guidelines for the Testing of Chemicals.
- Resources for International Librarians, Health Professionals and Researchers in Developing CountriesThe resources described below are programs specifically for libraries and institutions in developing countries. Many provide free access or subscriptions at dramatically reduced rates to individuals or institutions in particular countries. Several provide online registration forms.
- UNICEFUnited Nations Children's Fund: an agency of the United Nations responsible for programs to aid education and the health of children and mothers in developing countries.
- UN Millennium Development Goals2000-2015. In 2000, 189 nations made a promise to free people from extreme poverty and multiple deprivations. This pledge turned into the eight Millennium Development Goals.
- UN Sustainable Development Goals2015-Present. The Sustainable Development Goals are a call for action by all countries – poor, rich and middle-income – to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, social protection, and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and environmental protection.
- World FactbookThe World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Additional Research Guides Relevant to Global Health
Additional resource guides from UW Madison.
- UW Global Health InstituteThe Global Health Institute (GHI) is a stand-alone unit at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The GHI serves as a portal to introducing students to great health disparities and challenges through certificate programs, classes and field experiences; and inspiring and and preparing faculty and students to collaborate and address urgent health needs at home and abroad.
- Clinical Sciences / EBMThis research guide provided by the Ebling Library provides an introduction to Evidence Based Medicine tailored to clinical sciences.
- Country Statistical YearbooksThis guide, presented by the Data & Information Services Center, provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 154 countries worldwide.
- Evidence-based Public HealthThis research guide provided by the Ebling Library provides an introduction to Evidence Based Medicine tailored to public health.
- Finding Health StatisticsThis guide, created by the Ebling Library, provides links to selected sources of data and statistics collected and provided by numerous organizations and agencies.
Accessing Articles
Find It @ UW 
Find It @ UW provides links from a citation in a database to the full text of that article, if available, and to other helpful resources and services such as an automatic search of the Library Catalog, a direct link to an interlibrary loan form, and a link to ask for additional assistance from a librarian.
Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery
If the library doesn't have access to a full text article you can request the full text through the library's Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.
Citation Finder
Locate articles when you have a citation using Citation Search.
Download BrowZine for e-journals
You can use Browzine to browse journals. Your UW NetID login is required after downloading the software. Apple, Android, and Kindle readers are supported. Note that not all Global Health journals are included in this tool.