Research Guides: Global Health Resources: Asia

Overview

This page contains links to reports, data, statistics, literature databases, and other UW research guides for Asia.

Reports, Data, Statistics

CountrySTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
The national version of FAOSTAT, CountrySTAT, is being developed and implemented in a number of target countries, primarily in sub-saharan Africa and some Asian nations. It offers a two-way data exchange facility between countries and FAO as well as a facility to store data at the national and sub-national levels.
WHO (World Health Organization) country profiles
Data summaries for the member nations of WHO.
WHO: Regional Office for South-East Asia
The WHO South East Asia Region has eleven Member States: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste.
WHO: Western Pacific Region
The Western Pacific Region stretches over a vast area, from China in the north and west, to New Zealand in the south, and French Polynesia in the east.
more...less...
One of the most diverse of the WHO regions, the Western Pacific constitutes some of the world's least developed countries as well as the most rapidly emerging economies. It includes highly developed countries such as Australia, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea and Singapore; and fast growing economies such as China and Viet Nam.
There are 37 Member States and areas in the Western Pacific Region. These are:
American Samoa
Australia
Brunei Darussalam
Cambodia
China
Cook Islands
Fiji
French Polynesia
Guam
Hong Kong, China
Japan
Kiribati
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Macao, China
Malaysia
Marshall Islands
Micronesia, Federated States of
Mongolia
Nauru New Caledonia
New Zealand
Niue
Northern Mariana Islands
Palau
Papua New Guinea
Philippines
Pitcairn Islands
Republic of Korea
Samoa
Singapore
Solomon Islands
Tokelau
Tonga
Tuvalu
Vanuatu
Viet Nam
Wallis and Futuna

Literature Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
The Bibliography of Asian Studies lists journal articles about Asia in Western language journals and books.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Index Medicus for the South-East Asian Region
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) is a database of articles published in selected journals within the WHO South-East Asia Region.
Official Publications of India
Government documents related to pre- and post-Independence South Asia.

Other UW Research Guides

Introductory Research on South Asia
Created by the UW Libraries, this research guide contains links to research resources on South Asia (primary for the Social Sciences and the Humanities).

Library Research Guides - University of Wisconsin Ebling Library

Global Health Resources : Asia

Overview

Reports, Data, Statistics

Literature Databases

Other UW Research Guides