United States Government: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Military Service
News
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Air University Library Index to Military PeriodicalsThe Air University Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items and editorials appearing in 76 English language military and aeronautical periodicals. (Updated quarterly)
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
Organizations
- Wisconsin Department of Military AffairsThe Department of Military Affairs (DMA) provides essential, effective, and responsive military and emergency management capability for the citizens of our state and nation. DMA includes Joint Force Headquarters-Wisconsin, the Wisconsin Army and Air National Guard, and the Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management.
- Wisconsin Veterans MuseumThe mission of the Wisconsin Veterans Museum is to acknowledge, commemorate, and affirm the role of Wisconsin veterans in the United States of America's military past. The Wisconsin Veterans Museum is an educational activity of the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs.
About Military Service
This research guide covers issues of military service in the United States. You might want to focus your research on a specific issue, including recruitment, ROTC, the GI Bill, trans people in the military, socioeconomic class and race in the military, among other topics. Please note that this page is focused on issues of military service in the United States; these issues exist internationally as well, but are viewed through an American lens in this guide.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: transgender, recruitment, equal rights AND military, women AND the military, ROTC programs, mental health, recruitment AND mental health
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- ASSIST Quick Search (Military Standards)The ASSIST database is the official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Indexed documents include current and historical military and federal standards and specifications. The ASSIST document database houses over 180,000 PDF files associated with about 82,000 of the approximately 111,000 indexed documents. (Updates vary)
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Military Strategy: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: U162 .E35 2017ISBN: 9780199340132Publication Date: 2017-02-06
Integrating the US Military: Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation Since World War II by Call Number: UB417 .I58 2017ISBN: 9781421422473Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Muslim Americans in the Military: Centuries of Service by Call Number: E184.M88 C876 2016 or ebookISBN: 9780253027214Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Religion in the Military Worldwide by Call Number: UH20 R45 2014 or ebookISBN: 9781139583428Publication Date: 2014-06-05
The Media and the Military: From the Crimea to Desert Strike by Call Number: P96 A75 Y68 1997ISBN: 9780312210113Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- SocINDEXIncludes full text for a variety of journals and books encompassing all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
- Military & Government CollectionThe Military & Government Collection provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military. The database contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and cover-to-cover full text content for nearly 300 of these titles. Dates of full text coverage vary.
- America: History and LifeAmerica: History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013-This tool is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.