Newspapers : Current
NYTimes.com Access
Access to the NYTimes.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the New York Times through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create an account through The New York Times Digital: Academic Pass.
WSJ.com Access
Access to the WSJ.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the Wall Street Journal through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create a WSJ.com account.
Find It
Locate a newspaper title or article when you have a citation using Citation Search.
Library Catalog
Chronicle of Higher Education
Current Newspaper Sites
Free Web sites for aggregated news sources and single newspapers.
About this Guide
This guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
It also includes sources of information useful for identifying, finding, and searching newspapers, such as: newspapers at other institutions; newspaper directories; and newspaper indexes.
Assistance in locating newspapers is available from staff in campus libraries.
Current Newspaper Databases
Below is a list of databases for finding current newspaper content. Search these databases by keywords to find specific articles. Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 20-30 years to date. Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Click on the i to access a title or source list.
- Alt-Press Watch1970 to date
Full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. Title List - Alternative Press Index1991 to date
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Click Publications to see all titles included. - Archive of Wisconsin NewspapersA collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format, starting in 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days. Titles include the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is not included. A service of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association.
- Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A HistoryEthnic NewsWatch provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1990-present. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History provides coverage for 1960-1989.
- FactivaDates vary.
A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. - Informe!1990s to present
Updated daily
Includes content of newspapers (Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Uruguay and Venezuela) from which around 20 to 80 stories/day are provided. Title List - International NewsstreamA collection of more than 600 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds. For nearly all of them, complete articles are available in text format.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition World CollectionFull-text of local newspapers from the United States, including Wisconsin, dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. Limited additional coverage of local newspapers from other countries.
- Newspaper Source Plus1,520 full-text newspapers. Provides more than 28 million full-text articles. Includes the Wisconsin State Journal, 1997-.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) offers access to more than 17,000 news, legal and business sources, including print and online journals; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives. (Updated daily)
- US NewsstreamUS Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in the Library Catalog.
Current issues of U.S. and Wisconsin newspapers are also available in the Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall.
Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases with full text of US and international newspapers. Generally, content in these databases is from the last 20-30 years.
Also on this page are links to free Web sites for aggregated news sources and major dailies.
In addition, there is information about where and how to find newspapers in print.
To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use the Library Catalog box on this page.
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.
