United States Government: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Judicial Branch
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Constitutional Amendments
- Executive Branch/The President
- Judicial Branch
- Legislative Branch
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- The Judicial BranchHosted by the federal government, this site provides basic background on the Judicial Branch.
- Judiciary Oversight CommiteeThe Committee on the Judiciary has been called the lawyer for the House of Representatives because of its jurisdiction over matters relating to the administration of justice in federal courts, administrative bodies, and law enforcement agencies.
About the Judicial Branch
This guide suggests sources about the Judicial branch of the United States Government, including issues related to the role of the Judicial branch and in advocacy and legislation.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: "Judicial Independence", "Judicial Branch" AND "Checks and Balances", "Judicial Branch" AND "Separation of Powers", "Judicial Powers", "Judaical Branch" AND "Activism"
See Also - Try searching any of the above with "Supreme Court," "Circuit Court," or "Appeals Court" instead of "Judicial Branch."
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Supremely Partisan: How Raw Politics Tips the Scales in the United States Supreme Court by James D. ZirinCall Number: KF8748 .Z57 2016ISBN: 9781442266360Publication Date: 2016-09-15
- Injustices: The Supreme Court's History of Comforting the Comfortable and Afflicting the Afflicted by Ian MillhiserCall Number: KF8748 .M475 2015ISBN: 9781568584560Publication Date: 2015-03-24
- New Directions in Judicial Politics by Kevin T. McGuire (Editor)Call Number: ebook or KF8775 N49 2012ISBN: 9780415893312Publication Date: 2012-03-05
- Supreme Conflict: The Inside Story of the Struggle for Control of the United States Supreme Court by Jan Crawford GreenburgISBN: 9781594201011Publication Date: 2007-01-23
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full TextThe Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text indexes legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also available.
- LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic Universe is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, polls, almanacs, biographical tools, and broadcast transcripts.
- U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals (Hein Online)Contains the body of reported judicial opinions that are published by each agency.
- Hein Online (Law)Full-text legal periodicals, historical texts, foreign & international materials, and primary legal materials in PDF, including the Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports & attorney general opinions, state session laws, and more. (Updated daily)
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis tool is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.