Religion: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Buddhism
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organization
- Dharma Realm Buddhist AssociationThe Dharma Realm Buddhist Association (DRBA), formerly known as the Sino-American Buddhist Association, was founded by the Venerable Master Hsuan Hua in 1959. It was established as a state and federally approved non-profit religious and educational corporation for the purpose of bringing the orthodox teachings of the Buddha to the entire world.
- Diamond Way Buddhism - UW Madison ChapterProvides an opportunity for the UW community to learn about meditation methods and Buddhist teachings with roots in the Karma Kagyu Tibetan Buddhist tradition.
About Buddhism
This guide offers databases, books, and other materials on Buddhism.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: Buddhism AND Practices, Buddhism AND Beliefs, Buddhism AND History, Buddhism AND Zen, Buddhism AND America, Buddhism AND The West.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy (FLAG)The diversity of faiths and beliefs in human experience makes the study of religion uniquely fascinating and valuable. Religion plays an essential role in societies worldwide, motivating decisions in every facet of life. Religion isn't simply an aspect of human culture—our beliefs define who we are and directly affect how we view the world.
Books
Essential Buddhism: A Comprehensive Guide to Belief and Practice by ISBN: 9780313384523Publication Date: 2010
Buddhism Beyond Borders : New Perspectives on Buddhism in the United States by ISBN: 9781438456379Publication Date: 2015
Articles- Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- Digital Dictionary of BuddhismThis dictionary is a compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseThe ATLA Religion Database (formerly ATLA Religion Index) indexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field of religion and theology. The index also includes essays from multi-author works and book reviews.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThe Bibliography of Asian Studies lists journal articles about Asia in Western language journals and books. Citations to books were discontinued in 1992. Covers all subjects, particularly in the humanities and social sciences, pertaining to East, South and Southeast Asia published worldwide 1971 - present.
- Project MuseProject Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
Statistics
- Pew Forum on Religion and Public LifeAbout Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.