Religion: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Judaism
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Ethnic Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971This is the third collection in Readex's American Ethnic Newspaper series following the African-American and Hispanic modules. Based on titles from the Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies, it includes more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in ten languages from across the country.
- American Jewish CongressThe American Jewish Congress is as an association of Jewish Americans organized to defend Jewish interests at home and abroad through public policy advocacy, using diplomacy, legislation, and the courts.
- The Jewish Council for Public AffairsThe Jewish Council for Public Affairs (JCPA) is an American Jewish non-profit organization that deals with community relations. The JCPA describes itself as "the representative voice of the organized American Jewish community."
- UW HillelHillel at the University of Wisconsin-Madison is home to over 5,000 Jewish students on campus and provides programs and activities for the campus community at large. Our building is located in the heart of the UW campus and downtown Madison and provides a home and support to over 30 independent student organizations.
- The Union for Reform JudaismThe Union for Reform Judaism leads the largest Jewish movement in North America. We provide vision and voice to build strong communities that, together, transform the way people connect to Judaism and change the world.
- United Synagogue of Conservative JudaismThe United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism is a network of kehillot - sacred communities - committed to a dynamic Judaism that is learned and passionate, authentic and pluralistic, joyful and accessible, egalitarian and traditional.
- Orthodox UnionThe mission of the Orthodox Union is to engage, strengthen and lead the Orthodox Jewish Community, and inspire the greater Jewish community.
This guide contains resources on the Jewish religion, the Jewish people, and Jewish culture.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: Judaism AND religion, Judaism AND culture, Jews AND secularism, Judaism AND Israel, Judaism AND United States, Judaism AND Torah, Jewish history, Judaism AND history
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- The Jewish Virtual LibraryThe Jewish Virtual Library is the most comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia in the world, covering everything from anti-Semitism to Zionism. So far, more than 13,000 articles and 6,000 photographs and maps have been integrated into the site. The Library has 13 wings: History, Women, The Holocaust, Travel, Israel & The States, Maps, Politics, Biography, Israel, Religion, Judaic Treasures of the Library of Congress, Vital Statistics and Reference.
- MyJewishLearningMy Jewish Learning is all about empowering Jewish discovery for anyone interested in learning more. We offer thousands of articles, videos and other resources to help you navigate all aspects of Judaism and Jewish life — from food to history to beliefs and practices.
- Jewish History: A Very Short Introduction by David N. MyersISBN: 9780199730988Publication Date: 2017-05-16
- Zionism: A Very Short Introduction by Michael StanislawskiISBN: 9780199766048Publication Date: 2016-12-02
- Jews and the American Religious Landscape by Uzi RebhunCall Number: eBookISBN: 9780231178266Publication Date: 2016-09-06
- Black Earth: The Holocaust as History and Warning by Snyder, TimothyISBN: 1784701483Publication Date: 2016
- The Torah: A Beginner's Guide by Joel S. Kaminsky; Joel N. LohrISBN: 9781851688548Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchMulti-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsThe Index to Jewish Periodicals is an index to more than 150 English language Jewish studies periodicals published in the United States, Canada, England, Israel, South Africa, and Australia. It covers topics relating to Judaica, Hebraica, Israel and the Middle East.
- RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesRAMBI is selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Israel. Material listed are compiled from thousands of collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Israel.
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical EncyclopediaThis encyclopedia makes available to all who are interested in Jewish history and culture the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Ed.Encyclopaedia Judaica is a major reference work with articles by the world's top scholars on all aspects of the Jewish experience. In addition to in-depth articles, it includes bibliographies listing the most important books and articles, and additional information.
- Pew Forum on Religion and Public LifePew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.