Religion: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Paganism
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Covenant of the GoddessThe Covenant of the Goddess is one of the largest and oldest Wiccan religious organizations. Wicca, or Witchcraft is the most popular expression of the religious movement known as Neo-Paganism.
About Paganism
Paganism is often used to refer variety of different belief systems. Traditionally it is used to refer to Pre-Christian religions, beliefs and practices, typically in Europe. More recently Paganism has become associated with Modern Paganism, or Neopaganism, or sets of beliefs that draw influence from or attempt to reconstruct pre-Christian beliefs of Europe.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: Modern Paganism, British Paganism, Roman Paganism, Russian Paganism (etc.) Wicca, Druidism, Paganism AND Christianity, Paganism AND Animism, Paganism AND History, Paganism AND Folklore OR Mythology, Paganism AND ritual, Paganism AND Beliefs,
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy (FLAG)The diversity of faiths and beliefs in human experience makes the study of religion uniquely fascinating and valuable. Religion plays an essential role in societies worldwide, motivating decisions in every facet of life. Religion isn't simply an aspect of human culture—our beliefs define who we are and directly affect how we view the world.
Books
Fairies, Demons, and Nature Spirits by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1137585196Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Celtic Myth and Religion: A Study of Traditional Belief, With Newly Translated Prayers, Poems, and Songs by ISBN: 9780786464760Publication Date: 2011-10-14
Re-riting Woman: Dianic Wicca and the Feminine Divine by ISBN: 0759110034Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Invented Religions: Imagination, Fiction, and Faith by ISBN: 9780754667803Publication Date: 2010-09-28
Witching Culture: Folklore and Neo-Paganism in America by ISBN: 9780812238037Publication Date: 2004-05-10
Articles- Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseThe ATLA Religion Database (formerly ATLA Religion Index) indexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field of religion and theology. The index also includes essays from multi-author works and book reviews.
- Project MuseProject Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
- Encyclopedia MythicaThe Encyclopedia Mythica is an online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends. Containing over 17,500 entries, the entries include legendary animals, gods and goddesses from many religions, imaginative places, supernatural creatures, and more. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania.
Statistics
- Pew Forum on Religion and Public LifePew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.