Religion: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Atheism/Agnosticism
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- The Center for InquiryThe Center for Inquiry strives to foster a secular society based on reason, science, freedom of inquiry, and humanist values.
- University of Wisconsin Athesist, Humanists and AgnosticsThe Atheists, Humanists, & Agnostics at UW-Madison promote the discussion of faith and religion on the UW-Madison campus. The AHA seeks to educate students on issues important to the secular community, encourage the personal development of one’s religious identity, and provide a support group for those who may be struggling with issues regarding their faith or lack thereof.
- The Freedom from Religion FoundationThe Foundation works as an umbrella for those who are free from religion and are committed to the cherished principle of separation of state and church.
This guide provides an introduction to resources about atheism/agnosticism.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: atheism AND secularism, agnosticism AND unbelief, atheism AND morality, agnosticism AND belief OR doubt, atheism AND Christianity, agnosticism AND humanism, agnosticism AND faith, atheism AND god.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy (FLAG)The diversity of faiths and beliefs in human experience makes the study of religion uniquely fascinating and valuable. Religion plays an essential role in societies worldwide, motivating decisions in every facet of life. Religion isn't simply an aspect of human culture—our beliefs define who we are and directly affect how we view the world.
- Atheism and Agnosticism: Exploring the Issues by Peter A. HuffISBN: 9781440870835Publication Date: 2021-09-01
- Agnostic: A Spirited Manifesto by Lesley HazletonISBN: 1594634149Publication Date: April 4, 2017
- Why science does not disprove God by Amir D. AczelISBN: 9780062230591Publication Date: 2014
- There is no God : atheists in America by David A. Williamson and George YanceyISBN: 9781442218499Publication Date: 2013
- The age of atheists : how we have sought to live since the death of God by Peter WatsonISBN: 9781476754314Publication Date: 2014
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an ongoing scholarly reference work. It is a "dynamic" encyclopedia, because each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field
- Philosopher's IndexIncludes articles on topics within philosophy, such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.