Internet and Online Culture: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Social Media
News
The UW-Madison Newspapers' Research Guide provides a variety of places to find current and historical newspapers available through the UW-Madison Libraries categorized by: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International newspapers.
Alternately, try using one of these specific newspaper databases:
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Lexis Nexis (Academic Universe)Approximately 5000 legal, news, reference, & business sources, most full text. It includes international & U.S. newspapers, ethnic & regional news sources, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.
About Social Media
This Research Guide provides resources related to social media.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: "social media" AND adolescents, "social media" AND "mental health" AND teenagers, "social media" AND students AND success, "social media" AND cyberbullying, Facebook AND politics, "social media" AND advertising, "social media" AND multiculturalism, TikTok AND gender, "social media" AND hiring.
Overview Resource/Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Social Media and Your Brain by Call Number: HM851 .S644 2017ISBN: 9781440854538Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Ten Arguments for Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Right Now by Call Number: HM851 .L3579 2018ISBN: 9781250196682Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Connected: the surprising power of our social networks and how they shape our lives by Call Number: HM741 C46 2009ISBN: 9780316036146Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Logged in and Stressed Out by Call Number: HM742 .D875 2020ISBN: 9781538126677Publication Date: 2020-12-21
Films
The links below are to streaming films accessed through their records in the UW-Madison Libraries catalog:
- Depression and Social MediaRefers to studies about teens, social media, and depression.
Cambridge Educational ©2020
5 minutes, 12 seconds - Social Media Research & EthicsSocial media data gives researchers access to large data sets of rich, naturally occurring data. Dr. Leanne Townsend explains ethical questions and presents a framework for solutions, including case studies to practice application.
SAGE Publications Limited, 2017
22 minutes, 57 seconds
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)A database covering advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- ProQuest One BusinessIncludes articles from scholarly and trade business periodicals as well as popular journals, like Fortune and Business Week.
- PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)Citations & summaries of articles and books related to psychology and the psychological aspects of other disciplines.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIncludes full text for 397 sociology journals. It encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
Statistics and Data
- Pew Research Center - Social MediaPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
- iPOLL DatabankMajor survey research organizations represented include The Gallup Organization, The Roper Organization, Louis Harris and Associates, the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News, the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington Post and the Associated Press.