Internet and Online Culture: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Surveillance
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Alt-Press WatchAccess to alternative newspapers and periodicals from local, national, and international perspectives that challenge mainstream media coverage. Dates cover content from 1970-present.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organization
- National Security AgencyThe National Security Agency (NSA) is a national-level intelligence agency of the United States Department of Defense, under the authority of the Director of National Intelligence. The NSA is responsible for global monitoring, collection, and processing of information and data for foreign intelligence and counterintelligence purposes.
- American Civil Liberties UnionThe ACLU works in the courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to by the Constitution and laws of the United States.
About Surveillance
This research guide provides an introduction to resources that address issues related to surveillance online and in public spaces.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: mass surveillance, surveillance AND privacy, mass surveillance OR surveillance AND national security, surveillance AND right of privacy, private surveillance, surveillance AND history, surveillance AND public places OR public spaces, internet surveillance, mass surveillance AND US, mass surveillance AND UK, mass surveillance AND China (etc.)
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
We See It All: Liberty and justice in an age of perpetual surveillance by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781541730670Publication Date: 2021-01-26
Democracy Betrayed: The Rise of The Surveillance Security State by ISBN: 9781619029125Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Citizen Spies: The Long Rise of America's Surveillance Society by ISBN: 9781479803927Publication Date: 2017-03-28
They Know Everything about You: How Data-Collecting Corporations and Snooping Government Agencies are Destroying Democracy by ISBN: 9781568584522Publication Date: 2015-02-24.
Articles- Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchMulti-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications
- SocINDEXIncludes articles on sociology and social sciences topics.
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)Public Affairs Information Service indexes covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- Philosopher's IndexIncludes articles on topics within philosophy, such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
- LexisNexisApproximately 5000 legal, news, reference, & business sources, most full text. It includes international & U.S. newspapers, ethnic & regional news sources, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.