Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Animal Rights
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspapers Research GuideResearch guide at the University of Wisconsin, covering current, historical, local (Madison), Wisconsin, United States, alternative or ethnic, international, and other newspapers.
- Television News ArchiveThe Television News Archive is a searchable collection of network news television broadcasts from 1968 to the present.
Organizations
- American Association for Laboratory Animal ScienceAn association of professionals that advances responsible laboratory animal care and use to benefit people and animals.
- Americans for Medical ProgressAMP provides accurate and incisive information to foster a balanced public debate on the animal research issue, ensuring that among the voices heard are those whose lives have been touched by research and those who work in the field.
- The Humane Society of the United StatesThe Humane Society and affiliates provide hands-on care and services to more than 100,000 animals each year, and professionalize the field through education and training for local organizations.
- PETAPeople for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) is the largest animal rights organization in the world, with more than 6.5 million members and supporters.
About Animal Rights
This research guide focuses on animal rights and welfare especially as related to animal experimentation as a method of biological and medical research. Sources are listed for both sides of the argument.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: animal rights, animal and scientific experimentation, laboratory animals, animal welfare, animal experimentat*, animal test*.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Animal Welfare Information CenterThe Animal Welfare Information Center is part of the United States Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library. It is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- The Tom Regan Animal Rights ArchiveAn online archive of the animal rights movement from North Carolina State University Libraries.
Books
When Animals Dream: the hidden world of animal consciousness by ISBN: 9780691220093Publication Date: 2022
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- BioOneIncludes articles on biology, ecology, and environmental science topics.
- Philosopher's IndexIncludes articles on topics within philosophy, such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.