Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Genetic Engineering
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Animal Rights
- Assisted Suicide
- Chemical and Biological Weapons
- Food Shortages/Food Supply
- Genetic Engineering
- Medical Ethics
- Stem Cell Research
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Undergraduate Genetics AssociationUGA is a student organization at UW-Madison run by students under the supervision of genetics faculty. UGA typically meets approximately every two weeks in the genetics/bio tech building on campus. The organization is open to all students, not just genetics majors. Meetings typically discuss current research taking place in genetics or careers in the genetics field.
- University of Wisconsin Biotechnology Center"The mission of the UW Biotechnology Center is to maximize the benefits of biotechnology to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin System, state and nation by being an excellent quality, comprehensive, multidisciplinary biotechnology center that supports, coordinates, disseminates and advances biotechnology."
- American Board of Genetic Counseling"The American Board of Genetic Counseling establishes standards of competence through accreditation of graduate training programs and certification and recertification of genetic counselors to advance the profession and protect the public."
- American Board of Medical GeneticsThe American Board of Medical Genetics certifies individuals and accredits training programs in the field of human genetics.
- American College of Medical Genetics"The ACMG provides education, resources and a voice for the medical genetics profession. To make genetic services available to and improve the health of the public, the ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic diseases."
- American Society of Human GeneticsThe American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG), founded in 1948, is the primary professional membership organization for human geneticists in the Americas. The nearly 8,000 members include researchers, academicians, clinicians, laboratory practice professionals, genetic counselors, nurses and others involved in or with special interest in human genetics.
- Center for Genetics and Society"The Center for Genetics and Society is a nonprofit information and public affairs organization working to encourage responsible uses and effective societal governance of the new human genetic and reproductive technologies." The organization is located in Oakland, California.
- Genetics Society of America"The GSA seeks to foster a unified science of genetics and to maximize its intellectual and practical impact."
- Greenpeace.orgThis international organization opposes genetically modified organisms and provides recent news events, multimedia and press information, documents, and other links.
- National Human Genome Research InstituteHosted by the National Institutes of Health, this site provides information on research, health, policy, and ethics.
- National Institute of Health, Office of Biotechnology Activities"Monitors scientific progress in basic and clinical research involving Recombinant DNA and Human Gene Transfer" and "provides policy advice to the Department of Health and Human Services on the broad array of complex medical, ethical, legal, and social issues raised by the development and use of genetic technologies."
- Institute of Science in Society"The Institute of Science in Society (ISIS) is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1999 by Mae-Wan Ho and Peter Saunders to work for social responsibility and sustainable approaches in science." This site provides vast amounts of information, use the topical headings at the top of the page to navigate.
- International Federation of Human Genetics Societies"The International Federation of Human Genetics Societies was founded in 1996 to provide a transparent structure to facilitate communication throughout the international community of human geneticists. The Federation, still in its infancy, serves its constituent members, human genetics societies around the world, by providing a platform to share information about research, education and clinical services in an interactive way."
- The International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology"An international organization dedicated to advanced research and training in molecular biology and biotechnology, with special regard to the needs of the developing world."
About Genetic Engineering
Genetic engineering is the production of new genes and alteration of genomes by substituting or adding new genetic material. This Research Guide is intended to be a starting point, as the topic of genetic engineering is broad.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: bioengineering AND agriculture, biotechnology, genetic engineering, genetic engineering industry, genetic engineering AND technology, genetic engineering AND law* AND regulation*, genetic research, genetic engineering AND heredity, genetic engineering AND human, genetic research AND moral OR ethical aspects, gene therapy, recombinant DNA
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Agricultural Network Information Center (AgNIC)Sponsored by the University of Maryland, AgNIC is a guide to quality agricultural biotechnology information on the Internet. The directory covers animals, economics, ethics, breeding and genetic improvement, entomology, food biotechnology, regulation, crops, environmental studies, and forestry.
- Bioethics Resources on the WebProvided by the National Institutes of Health, this site contains a wealth of information about general and specific bioethics topics, organizations, and other federal resources relating to bioethics.
- Bioethics.netHosted by the University of Pennsylvania, Center for Bioethics. Refer to the "Features" section for articles relating to bioethics.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology"The Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology was established in 2001 to be an independent and objective source of credible information on agricultural biotechnology for the public, media and policymakers." The site covers recent news releases, research, polls, the Pew Initiative's own publications, and other Pew Initiative events.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Editing Humanity: The CRISPR Revolution and the New Era of Genome Editing by Kevin DaviesCall Number: ebook or QH438.7 .D39 2020ISBN: 9781643133942Publication Date: 2020-10-06
- The Gene Machine: How Genetic Technologies are Changing the Way We Have Kids--and the Kids We Have by Bonnie RochmanISBN: 9780374160784Publication Date: 2017-02-28
- Our Grandchildren Redesigned: Life in the Bioengineered Society of the Near Future by Michael BessISBN: 9780807052174Publication Date: 2015-10-13
- The Epigenetics Revolution: How Modern Biology is Rewriting Our Understanding of Genetics, Disease, and Inheritance by Nessa CareyISBN: 9780231530712Publication Date: 2012-03-06
- Designer Genes by Steven PotterISBN: 9781400069057Publication Date: 2010-09-14
- Biotechnology and Genetic EngineeringISBN: 9780816077847Publication Date: 2010-05-01
- Biology Is Technology by Robert H. CarlsonISBN: 9780674035447Publication Date: 2010-02-25
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Biological AbstractsThe Biological Abstracts database covers anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
- PubMedIncludes articles related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts (BBA)Includes articles across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.